Latest News

also in the news :
Congratulations to John Walsh on his election as the 101st...
Naas Rugby Newsletter
Naas marched into the Second Round of the Bank of Ireland...
Storm Jorge was not able to cause a cancellation of the...
Having amassed three consecutive wins since the turn the...

Naas 49 - Tullamore 0   01/03/2020

Naas marched into the Second Round of the Bank of Ireland Provincial Towns Cup with a comprehensive win over Tullamore on Sunday afternoon.

The home side started brightly and scored within 90 seconds. After being awarded a penalty a quick tap by Barry Finan caught the Tullamore defence unawares and his pass saw Evan Coyle dive over for the try.

Tullamore struggled to contain the fast and accurate running by the Naas backs who created huge overlaps, leading to David Selby and Conor Sheridan scoring on nine and 24 minutes respectively.

It was all one way traffic and another quick tap penalty led to Enda Dowling added a fourth try on 32 minutes, before Tullamore enjoyed their best spell of the half. However they failed to turn a five yard scrum into a score, and Naas broke quickly with a move that took them the length of the pitch before Philip Jordan scored. Although all five conversion attempts were missed Naas led 25-0 at the interval.

The home side extended the lead on 55 minutes. Tullamore were penalised for collapsing a scrum and Enda Dowling who took over the kicking duties slotted the penalty. The home side went further ahead on 61 minutes. They were awarded a penalty close to the posts and elected to run it. The ball was moved out wide to Ruairi Cleary who found a gap in the Tullamore defence, which he sprinted through to score. Enda Dowling added the conversion.

It was all one way traffic and Cleary added another two tries on 68 and 80 minutes both of which were converted by Dowling, to see Naas comfortably march into the second round in impressive fashion on a 49-0 scoreline.

Naas: Enda Dowling, Ruairi Cleary, Kevin McLoughlin, David Selby, Conor Sheridan, Rob Campbell, Barry Finan, Steve Lackey, Rob Wynne, Conor McCormack, Rob Malone, Philip Jordan, Evan Coyle, Warren Larkin, Tom Brady.  Replacements: Jack Barry, Tom Dunne, Conor Doyle, Johnny Holmes, Joe Darcy.
Tullamore: Tiernan Quinn, Aaron Pierce, Mark McGrath, Dermot Hickey, Robbie Kennedy, Dean Pierce, Michael Pierce, Rian Conroy, Shane Spillane, Dan Cronin, Garry Pike, David Keyes, John Connolly, Stephen Connolly, Geoff Scully.  Replacements: Eoghan Galvin, Jamie Lynam, Eric Martin.


Upcoming Events