Goalfest Glory For Under 14 Footballers   26/06/2015

Under 14 Football Championship Final Match Report

Uibh Laoire 8-10
Kilmichael 5-07

Uibh Laoire have been crowned Under 14 Rebel Óg West Football Championship champions after a terrific victory over a gallant & talented Kimichael outfit at a wet & windy Kilnamartyra venue on Thursday last. 

The scoreline doesn't lie - this was indeed a cracker. Neither set of supporters were given time to draw breath as both teams went at it hammer & tongs to play out a game of football which will be remembered for a long time to come by the large attendance present. 

It was Uibh Laoire who started brightest with Seán O'Riordan notching an early goal to put Uibh Laoire 1-02 to 0-00 to the good. Within two minutes, Kilmichael were level and this was to be a sign of things to come as scores & goals in particular were plentiful. In the 15th minute, Seán O'Riordan was to add his second goal of the game after some great work by Adrian O'Dea & this goal was followed by a double salvo by Ian Jones before half time to put Uibh Laoire 4-03 to 3-03 in front, as Kilmichael continued to stay in touch with goals of their own in what was a brilliant half of end to end football. 

The second half began as the first half ended as Uibh Laoire banged in their fifth goal of the game with Seán O'Riordan completing his hat-trick. A minute later, the ball was in Uibh Laoire's net in what was turning out to be a goal bonanza. While goals were aplenty, it doesn't mean there was a shortage of great defensive work as goalkeeper Brian O'Riordan & defenders Daniel O'Donovan and Max Murphy came to Uibh Laoire's rescue on numerous occasions. 

Seán O'Riordan continued to be an excellent outlet for Uibh Laoire as he smashed in his fourth goal of the game but Kilmichael refused to go away as the scoreline read 6-06 to 5-07 with just ten minutes left on the clock. Both teams now understandably began to tire with the ferocious pace of the game. And as the game was firmly in the melting pot, up stepped Uibh Laoire captain Aaron O'Donovan to hammer in his side's seventh goal of the game & he then followed that up with an absolute beauty in to the top corner of the Kilmichael net to finally put the game beyond all doubt. 

The final whistle was greeted with joyous scenes by the Uibh Laoire supporters, players and management alike. This final was a real throwback to the finals of old between these two old foes & just like the cracking final of 14 years ago, Uibh Laoire once again came out on top but were made fight all the way to the end by an excellent Kilmichael team. 

While the goalscoring exploits were shared among Seán O'Riordan, Ian Jones & Aaron O'Donovan, this was an incredibly well balanced team performance. Brian O'Riordan and his four defenders Max Murphy, Micheál Herlihy, Daniel O'Donovan & Muiris Foley all did incredibly well to concede just 5-07 in what is a very open game of football at 11-a-side. The midfield duo of Ian Jones and Aaron O'Donovan covered every blade of grass on the pitch while the forward unit of Shane Hodman, Adrian O'Dea, David O'Donoghue, Seán O'Riordan & Joseph O'Donovan(introduced at half time) all worked their socks off to contribute to the huge scoring tally of 8-10 between them. 

Special mention must go to the management team of Barry Murphy, Shane Galvin, Seán O'Leary & Ciarán O'Riordan for putting in an awful lot of hard work with these youngsters to steer them to this deserved championship title. It's great to see young members within the club helping guide the underage players to success. Well done to all involved.

Team: Brian O'Riordan, Micheál Herlihy, Max Murphy, Daniel O'Donovan, Muiris Foley, Aaron O'Donovan, Ian Jones, David O'Donoghue, Adrian O'Dea, Shane Hodman, Séan O'Riordan.

Subs: Joseph O'Donovan(used), Shane Hurley, Charlie Kearney, Jerry Lucey, Arnold Costello, Sam Pickering, Conor O'Donovan. 

Upcoming Events

Club Shop