Gaels Are County Champions   16/11/2013

County Minor B Football Final

Western Gaels 2-17
Donoughmore 1-06

On Saturday last, 16/11/13, Western Gaels claimed their second Minor B Football County title in 3 years with an impressive victory over Donoughmore at Coachford. 

Conditions at Coachford were quite good for this time of year and it allowed the Gaels players to rack up a big score once they started to play some lovely, free-flowing football. It wasn't all plain-sailing however. Donoughmore put it up to the Iveleary/Kilmichael amalgamation outfit and had reeled them to within 3 points just after half time. The Gaels however, were not to be denied and responded to the challenge in style, pulling away from their opponents to claim victory in style.

The opening half was slow to get going, with both sides making some nervous mistakes on the ball. Gaels did pull out in front though and held a 0-08 to 0-02 lead at half-time. Donoughmore regrouped at half-time and came out all guns blazing at the start of the second half to bring the score to 0-08 to 0-05. 

Then came the turning point in the game in the 38th minute, as Liam Kearney rattled the Donoughmore net to put 6 points between the teams. Gaels added four quickfire points thereafter and it was to kill off the Donoughmore challenge. As the Donoghmore challenge wilted, Gaels kept the scoreboard ticking over and Barry O'Leary put the final nail in their coffin with a late goal to gloss over the scoreline. 

It was a great team performance by the Gaels which is a great testament to everyone involved, as it is not always easy for amalgamation sides to gel so well. The team will now look to add the County League title to their collection to complete a clean-sweep at Minor B Football level for the year.

Everyone at Uibh Laoire GAA would like to congratulate everyone involved with the team on their fantastic achievement and wish them all the best in the County League.

Team: Ciarán O'Donoghue(Kilmichael), Ciarán Galvin(Iveleary), David Murphy(Ive.), Barry Kelleher(Kil.), Cathal Foley(Kil.), Finbarr McSweeney(Ive.), Luke Hennigan(Kil.), Shane O'Donoghue(Kil), Barry O'Leary(Ive.), Kevin Murphy(Kil.), Peter Kelleher(Kil.), Shane Foley(Kil.)(Captain), Chris Óg Jones(Ive.), Liam Kearney(Ive.), Trevor Tobin(Kil.)

Subs: Ronan O'Callaghan(Kil.), Óisin DeLacey(Kil.), Stephen O'Leary(Kil.), James O'Donovan(Ive.), Liam Cotter(Ive.), John O'Mahony(Kil), Ciarán O'Riordan(Ive.), Jamie McCarthy(Kil.)

Scorers: Liam Kearney(1-04), Shane Foley(0-06), Peter Kelleher(0-05), Barry O'Leary(1-00), Chris Óg Jones(0-01), Finbarr McSweeney(0-01).

Upcoming Events

Club Shop