Mid-Cork Champions 2018!!!   06/09/2018

Iveleary claim Muskerry crown with win over Canovee

The Corkman


Iveleary 1-9 

Canovee 1-6

THERE was a large crowd at Kilmurry on Sunday evening last for the final of Muskerry’s premier football championship and the arrangements by the host club were excellent.

A keenly contested encounter was anticipated and that was what materialised with the eventual winners Iveleary breathing a sigh of relief at the finish that they had a change of fortune in finals.

They lost narrowly in the last two finals to Kilmurry so on Sunday evening last they were hoping to get the better of a formidable Canovee side and avoid another disappointment at the final hurdle.

Iveleary went on the offensive from the throw in but they were wide with a scoring effort and Canovee put an attacking movement together from the kick out. It ended with Conor Hughes sending the football between the uprights, but Canovee’s joy was short lived.

Iveleary very much dominated the outfield exchanges subsequently even though it was an evening that the forwards on both sides found it hard to put scores on the board. The rain that fell before and during the game made the underfoot conditions uncomfortable.   Iveleary got on level terms in the fourth minute when Brian Cronin pointed a free and a minute later they took the lead. Finbarr McSweeney raised a white flag from play and Iveleary managed to stay ahead for the rest of the game. They failed on a few occasions subsequently, to consolidate their position but they got a huge boost at the end of the first quarter. Finbarr McSweeney (Junior) was upended as he was heading for what seemed a certain goal so a penalty was awarded. Cathal Vaughan found the net from same and Iveleary clearly had the initiative as they looked to consolidate their position. They failed to press on to a significant degree however as there was no additional score until the 24th minute.

Barry O’Leary registered a third minor for the winners at that stage, but a minute later they suffered a huge set back. A needless penalty was conceded and it was expertly converted by James Moynihan so Canovee were right back in the game.   The Iveleary defence conceded nothing in the remaining period before the interval, however, while their forwards achieved some success. Finbarr McSweeney (senior), Barry O’Leary and Ciarán Galvin all sent the football between the uprights so leading 1-6 to 1-1 at the interval Iveleary could feel reasonably happy.

A Cathal Vaughan point from a free a minute following the restart enhanced further Iveleary’s prospects but Canovee then produced their best territorial period. Brian O’Donoghue won a share of ball at centre field so the mettle of the Iveleary defence was tested.  They generally were not found wanting but Canovee did manage to improve their position when James Moynihan in the 35th minute and Mark Healy from a free in the 36th minute and from play in the 40th raised white flags so three points now separated the sides.

Cathal Vaughan took some of the pressure off Iveleary when he pointed a free at the end of the third quarter. They were still shaping like victors at that stage as their defenders were now performing superbly, but a couple of scoring opportunities were not availed of and substitute Paul Healy got a point back for Canovee in the 55th minute to keep their hopes alive.

A James Moynihan point subsequently made the situation even more precarious but last season’s finalists were not to be denied and substitute Donal O’Sullivan clinched victory with his point from a free in the time added on period.

It was a well merited success for Iveleary with the safe reliable goal-keeping of Joe Creedon, and the outstanding performance by Barry Murphy (who was selected as Man of the Match) in defence particularly praise worthy.

Iveleary also had to contend with the fact that two of their leading players Cathal Vaughan and Chris Óg Jones entered the fray with injuries so they were not performing to their full potential even though they did make a contribution to their win.   They also had to contend with the departure of another leading figure Brian Cronin who suffered an injury in the 22nd minute. 

IVELEARY: Joe Creedon, Brian Murphy, Daniel O’Riordan, Donal Cotter, Ciarán Galvin (0-1), Kevin Manning, Ger O’Riordan, Ciarán O’Riordan, Sean Lehane, Finbarr McSweeney Junior, Cathal Vaughan (1-2 1pen, 2f), Finbarr McSweeney Senior (0-2), Brian Cronin (0-1), Chris Óg Jones, Barry O’Leary (0-2) Subs: Sean O’Leary for Brian Cronin (inj), 22, Conor O’Leary for Sean Lehane, 44, Liam Kearney for Finbarr McSweeney (Junior), 48, Ger McSweeney for Finbarr McSweeney (Senior), 54, Donal O’Sullivan (0-1f) for Chris Óg Jones, 58

CANOVEE: Darren Shine, Patrick Buckley, James McCarthy, Liam Kelleher, Michael Dunne, Brian Ahern, Eoghan Lehane, Denis Murphy, Brian O’Donoghue, Aidan Murphy, Conor Hughes (0-1), Denis O’Sullivan (Capitan), James Moynihan (1-2, 1pen), Sean O’Connor, Mark Healy (0-2, 1f) Subs: Andrew Cronin for Conor Hughes, 38, Amon Lyons for Denis O’Sullivan, 47, Paul Healy (0-1) for Denis Murphy, 54, John O’Brien for Eoghan Lehane, 57, Michael Deasy for Mark Healy, 57, Mark Healy for Paul Healy, 59, black card

REFEREE: John Ryan (Macroom)

Round 1 of the County competition vs Buttevant has been provisionally fixed for Saturday 15th September at 5.00pm in Donoughmore.

Upcoming Events

Club Shop