fb twitter yt

Four Kerry Players Honoured in Christy Ring Champions 15 2015-11-04 21:49:00

Four Kerry Players Honoured in Christy Ring Champions 15

The GAA has confirmed the Champions 15 award winners for the 2015 Ring, Rackard and Meagher hurling championships. These awards will be presented at Friday night's GAA GPA All-Stars banquet sponsored by Opel at the Convention Centre, Dublin.
It is no surprise to see the Kingdom top the list of recipients in the Ring Champion 15 with Shane Nolan (Crotta O'Neills), John Egan (St Brendans), Patrick Kelly (Clarecastle) and Keith Carmody (Causeway) all recognised for their contributions.

Derry (3), Down (2), Kildare (2), Mayo, London, Meath and Wicklow have players awarded with a place in the prestigious selection of being the best of the best in this competition in 2015.
The awards are presented to honour the best hurlers from these three championships.
Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Aogan Ó Fearghail said: "These awards acknowledge the undoubted talent that exists at every level of inter-county hurling. It also serves as a reminder of the pursuit of excellence that runs right through these competitions from start to finish”.
Having lost the last two Christy Ring Cup finals at Croke Park, Kerry made it third time lucky in 2015 and saw off Derry by 1-20 to 0-12 to collect their second Christy Ring title in what was a big year for Kerry hurling.

County Committee Chairman, Patrick O'Sullivan, in congratulating the players, said that this honour reflected the great strides made by Kerry Hurling during the year; "It has been a tremendous year for Kerry Hurling, winning the Christy Ring Cup, winning Division 2A and subsequently gaining promotion to Division 1B of the League and qualification for the Liam McCarthy Cup. While this success has come as a result of a great team effort, Shane Nolan, Patrick Kelly, John Egan and Keith Carmody have been inspirational all year. Congratulations to all four players".