fb twitter yt

Lixnaw are Minor Hurling Champions 2015 2015-10-17 22:28:00

Lixnaw are Minor Hurling Champions 2015

Lixnaw are Keanes Supervalu Killorglin Minor Hurling Champions for the second year in a row following a comprehensive 3-19 to 1-10 victory over St Brendans in Kilmoyley this afternoon. Man of the Match was Lixnaw's Jeremy McKenna.

Lixnaw 3 – 19 St. Brendan’s 1 - 10

Lixnaw are Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin County Minor Hurling Champions for the second year in a row following a comprehensive 3-19 to 1-10 victory over St. Brendan’s in Kilmoyley on Saturday.
This was a game the winners dominated from the very start and a succession of early points from Shane Conway set them on their way. Conway, together with centre forward, Jeremy McKenna, tormented the Ardfert defence throughout. Lixnaw were ahead by 11 points to 4 at half time and were by then well on their way to the title.

On the re-start Brendan’s had their best period of the match but only put 3 points on the scoreboard. However Lixnaw goals in the 38th and 45th minutes from John Buckley and Colin Sheehy respectively effectively sealed the game for them, leaving the score 2 - 14 to 7 points entering the last quarter.

Fionán Mackessy goaled from a close in free for Brendan’s on 52 minutes but another Lixnaw goal from Jack Allen in the closing stages ensured that Lixnaw earned back to back titles. Lixnaw were deserving winners on the day. All their top players put in huge performances, with Jeremy McKenna earning the Man of the Match award for a superb individual display.

Tar éis an chluiche, bhronn Gerard McCarthy, Oifigeach Iomána Coiste Chontae Chiarraí Corn Seán Luibhéid ar chaptaen Leac Sná, John Buckley.

D’imir na foirne seo leanas:
Leac Sná:
Robert Silles, Tom Foley, David Silles, Conor O'Keeffe, Liam Mullins, Gerard Stackpoole, William Costello, John Buckley (captain), Brian McAulliffe, Shane Conway, Jeremy McKenna, Davin Quilter, Colin Sheehy, Jamie Galvin Jason Keane.
Fir Ionaid: Thomas Molyneaux, Brendan Angland, Jack Allen, Oran O'Connell, Shane McElligott, James King, Mike Dennehy, Daire Shannon, Sean Kelliher, Steven Keane.

Naomh Breandáin:
Shane McCrohan, Shane O'Mahony, Aaron Thompson, James Lawlor, Adrian Nolan, Iarla Courtney, Gearoid Savage, Fionán Mackessey, Eoghan Kearney, Padraig O'Connor(captain), Eric Leen, Jimmy Shanahan, Michael Davis, Padraig O'Mahony, Jack McCarthy.
Fir Ionaid: John O'Driscoll, Thomas Dwyer, Diarmuid O'Connor, Jamie Hogan, Micheál O'Sullivan, Dean Sinnott, Devin Costello, Cormac O'Shea, Noel Lenihan, Christopher Kelly, Seamus O'Halloran.

Réiteoir: Tom Godley (Cill Mhaoile)