fb twitter yt

Kerry Juniors : All Ireland Champions 2015-08-09 18:13:00

Congratulations to the Kerry Juniors and Management team on winning the All  Junior Final today in Croke Park. Ciarraí Abú

Click here for match report from GAA.ie

Kerry Junior Football Team
All Ireland Final V Mayo Sat August 8th 2015

The Kerry Junior Football Team to play Mayo in the All Ireland Junior Football final in Croke Park on Saturday at 2pm shows three changes in personnel from the side that started in the Semi Final win over Wexford – Jack Maguire, a late withdrawl in that game due to injury, resumes in the full back position, Brendan O’Sullivan, introduced against Wexford is named at centre field along with Liam Kearney and Thomas Hickey, who did not start the drawn game due to illness, resumes in the corner forward position.
The players to lose out are Eamonn Kiely, Brendan O’Sullivan and Jordan Kiely.
The team, captained by Alan O’Donoghue of John Mitchels is as follows:

1 Shane Murphy Kilcummin

2 Dan O’Donoghue Spa

3 Jack McGuire Listowel Emmets

4 David Culhane Ballylongford

5 James Walsh Knocknagoshel

6 Tadhg Morley Templenoe

7 Gavin Crowley Templenoe

8 Brendan O’Sullivan Valentia

9 Liam Kearney Spa

10 Brian Crowley Templenoe

11 Jeff O’Donoghue Glenflesk

12 Philip O’Connor Cordal

13 Thomas Hickey Castleisland Desmonds

14 Conor Cox Listowel Emmets

15 Alan O’Donoghue (C) John Mitchels

Fir Ionaid:

16 Darragh O’Shea Ballydonoghue

17 Eamon Kiely Brosna

18 Brian Sugrue Renard

19 Michael Brennan Churchill

20 Gary O’Sullivan Listry

21 Jordan Kiely Dr Crokes

22 Adam Barry Brosna

23 David Griffin Ardfert

24 Killian Spillane Templenoe

Bainisteoir: Stephen Wallace (Ardfert)
Roghnoirí: Fergus Clifford (Listry), Denis O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), Timmy O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys)

On the Injured List:
Denis Daly St Marys
Greg Gibson Waterville

The Kerry Junior Football Team to play Wexford contains 6 of the side defeated by Cavan in the All Ireland Junior Final last year namely; Shane Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Brendan O’Sullivan, Philip O’Connor, Brian Crowley and Thomas Hickey, The O’Donoghues, Jeff and Alan were substitutes on the day,

Twin brothers, Gavin and Brian Crowley were members of the Under 21 team this year while Spa club-mates, Dan O’Donoghue and Liam Kearney were members of the successful Kerry Minor Team last year with three more of last year’s minors, Brian Sugrue, Jordan Kiely and Killian Spillane listed among the substitutes.

Kerry Take on Mayo in All Ireland Junior Final

Kerry Juniors take on Mayo in the All Ireland Junior Final in Croke Park on Saturday evening next (2pm) a game that is a curtain raiser to the two senior Quarter Final ties involving Monaghan/Tyrone (4pm) and Mayo/Donegal (6pm)

Kerry, under the guidance of Ardfert’s Stephen Wallace, have had an impressive championship to date, defeating Tipperary in their opening game (2-13 to 1-8) and Cork in the provincial decider by a twelve points margin (1-20 to 0-11) after looking in trouble at the break. They then accounted for Wexford with a devastating final quarter that yielded 3-4 to run out comfortable winners of a game they struggled to take control of for a long time (3-13 to 2-9). All of which adds up to a scoring return of 6-46 to 3-28 against. Mayo, who like Kerry, are restricted to players who have not played in the county championship in 2014, have not been overly impressive in their three games to date, accounting for Sligo(2-10 to 1-10), Galway in the provincial decider (1-12 to 0-13) and British champions Kilkenny in the semi final ( 1-12 to 0-8) for a scoring return of 4-34 for, to 1-31 against.

The final is of course a repeat of the 2012 final between the sides played in Ennis which Kerry won on a score of 0-19 to 1-7 to record their 15th title. With eight of last year’s panel still involved, Kerry and manager Stephen Wallace, will be keen to make up for the defeat at the hands of Cavan in last year’s final and despite the fact that full back, Jack Maguire is rated very doubtful due a an ankle injury that kept him out of the semi final, Kerry are quite capable of being crowned Junior champions for the 16th time.