fb twitter yt

Last Gasp goal gives Meath victory over Kerry in Under 21 B 2015-08-09 18:12:00

All Ireland B Under 21 Championship Qtr Final

Meath 2-15 Kerry 1-17
Last Gasp goal gives Meath victory over Kerry in Under 21 B Champ

A Meath goal in the 2nd minute of injury time deprived Kerry of a semi final place in the All Ireland Under 21 B Championship at Trim on Saturday. After a close and tough battle throughout, three pointed frees from Paul McGrath had given Kerry a precarious two points lead with time running out but in a last gasp attack, Meath breached the Kerry lines to plunder an unlikely victory. Stevie O’Sullivan did have a last chance to send the game to extra time but his shot tailed wide and with it Kerry’s hopes of victory.

Kerry, who lined out without the injured Alex O’Mahony and the unavailable Daniel Collins (replaced the recently returned O’Leary Brothers from Abbeydorney, Michael and Brendan, played against the strong wind in the first half but an early goal from Ricki Heffernan gave them a cushion and some outstanding goalkeeping by Stephen Murphy and good work by Dougie Fitzell, Keith Carmody and Darragh Shanahan ensured that Kerry went in on level terms at the break, 1-4 to 0-7.

Kerry resumed with the wind but a dogged Meath side kept in touch and at the three quarter stage the sides were still on level terms, 1-10 apiece. With Paul McGrath unerring from placed balls (he scored 7 in the second half in all), it looked like it was going to be Kerry’s day until Meath struck for the last gasp goal.
Kerry: Paul McGrath 0-11 (9 frees, 1 “65”), Philip Lucid 0-3, Ricki Heffernan 1-0, Jordan Brick, Michael O’Leary, Brendan O’Leary 0-1 each.

Kerry Under 21 Hurling Team V Meath – All Ireland Under 21 B Championship
Saturday 8th Aug 2015 2pm in Trim.

1 Stephen Murphy   (Capt)       Causeway    
2 Fionán Horgan                       St Brendans
3 Dougie Fitzell                        Kilmoyley
4 Alex O’Mahony                    Abbeydorney
5 Micheal Stackpoole               Lixnaw
6 Darragh Shanahan                 Lixnaw
7 Keith Carmody                     Causeway
8 Thomas Casey                      Causeway
9 Philp Lucid                           Ballyheigue
10 Kieran Fitzgearld                St Brendans
11 Daniel Collins                     Kilmoyley
12 Jordan Brick                        Kilmoyley
13 Paul McGrath                     Causeway
14 Ricky Heffernan                  Lixnaw
15 Darren Leahy                      Causeway
Fir Ionaid:
17 Daniel Carroll                   Ballyduff
18 T B McElligott                 Crotta O’Neills
19 Paudie Quille                    Crotta O’Neills
20 Stevie O’Sullivan             Abbeydorney
21 Adrian Flahive                  Ballyheigue
22 Sean Leahy                       Causeway
23 Flor McCarthy                  Kilmoyley
24 John Godley                      Kilmoyley
25 Daniel Finnegan               St Brendans
26 Fionán O’Sullivan            Kenmare

Additional panel members (Unavailable)
Jason Wallace                       Lixnaw
Micheal O’Leary                  Abbeydorney
Brendan O’Leary                 Abbeydorney

Bainisteoír: Joe Walsh (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí:  D.J. Leahy (Causeway), Michael Conway (Lixnaw), John Lucid (Ballyheigue)
Physio:   Trudy Ryan
Liason Officer : Ger McCarthy
Under 21 ‘B’ Hurling Championship

The Kerry under 21 hurlers travel to play Meath on this Saturday, 8th August in the All-Ireland ‘B’ quarter final. The game goes ahead at Trim, 2.00p.m. The new perpetual trophy for the competition, the Richie McElligott Cup, commemorates the former Lixnaw and Kerry hurler who was a member of the Kerry team that won the All-Ireland junior championship in 1961 and who won a co. senior hurling medal with Lixnaw in 1954.

The other Quarter Final ties involve Roscommon/Armagh, Donegal/Mayo and Wicklow/Kildare.
The winners of the Meath/Kerry tie are drawn at home to the winners of the Donegal/Mayo tie in the semi finals.

The semi-finals will be on Saturday, 22nd August and the final on Saturday, 12th September.

The following is the Kerry Panel of players for the Under 21 Championship. The Kerry team will be announced on Thursday lunchtime.

Kerry Under 21 Hurling Panel V Meath All Ireland Under 21 B Championship

1 Fionán Horgan St Brendans
3 Philip Lucid Ballyheigue
4 Alex O’Mahony Abbeydorney
5 Jordan Brick Kilmoyley
6 Darren Leahy Causeway
7 Darragh Shanahan Lixnaw
8 Kirean Fitzgearld St Brendans
9 Daniel Carroll Ballyduff
10 T B McElligott Crotta O’Neills
11 Thomas Casey Causeway
12 Paudie Quill Crotta O’Neills
13 Keith Carmody Causeway
14 Stevie O’Sullivan Abbeydorney
15 Micheal Stackpoole Lixnaw
16 Paul McGrath Causeway
17 Daniel Collins Kilmoyley
18 Dougie Fitzell Kilmoyley
19 Adrian Flahive Ballyheigue
20 Ricky Heffernan Lixnaw
21 Fionán O’Sullivan Kenmare
22 Stephen Murphy (Capt) Causeway
23 Brendan O’Leary Abbeydorney
24 Micheal O’ Leary Abbeydorney
25 Jason Wallace Lixnaw
26 Flor McCarthy Kilmoyley
27 John Godley Kilmoyley
28 Sean Leahy Causeway
Bainisteoír: Joe Walsh (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí: D.J. Leahy (Causeway), Michael Conway (Lixnaw), John Lucid (Ballyheigue)
Physio: Trudy Ryan
Liason Officer : Ger McCarthy