fb twitter yt

Kerry Juniors in All Ireland Final 2015-07-25 22:36:00

Kerry Juniors in All Ireland Final
Kerry 3-13 Wexford 2-9

An excellent final quarter during which they outscored their dogged rivals by 3-4 to 0-1 earned Kerry Juniors an All Ireland final place following this keenly contested semi final tie at Fraher Field Dungarvan this afternoon. Kerry will now meet Mayo who defeated Kilkenny by 1-12 to 0-8 in the other semi final.

Kerry lined out without the injured Jack McGuire with Eamonn Kiely coming into the defence and up front, Jordan Kiely replaced the ill Thomas Hickey with Fossa’s Paudie Clifford coming into the match day squad.
A careless sideline kick from a Kerry defender set Wexford up for their second goal of the afternoon in the 45th minute and at that stage the outlook certainly looked gloomy for the Kingdom given that they had fallen five points in arrears. However, some shrewd substitutions by the Kerry management, that saw the introduction of Killian Spillane, Brendan O’Sullivan and Thomas Hickey (Who did not start due to illness), worked the oracle for the the Kingdom with O’Sullivan pointing on his introduction before Conor Cox finished a fine passing move to the net in the 49th minute. Cox levelled soon after and Kerry now had their tails up with Hickey and O’Sullivan again pointing in quick succession. Five minutes from time came the second goal, almost a carbon copy of the first, with Hickey setting up Cox to palm home his second major. Shane Murphy saved well in the Kerry goal before Killian Spillane finished another fine Kerry move to the net a minute from time to set up a final meeting with Mayo on Saturday week..
Kerry started well and the sides swapped points to be level , two points apiece, by the 9th minute with points by Cox and Jeff O’Donoghue but that all changed in the 16th minute when Paudie Barden scored a spectacular goal for Wexford from all of 21 yards out that gave Shane Murphy no chance in the Kerry goal. Barden added a point and despite a good point by James Walsh, the lively Donal Shanley pointed for Wexford to put the Leinster men 3 clear by the 21st minute and Nial Harney added another soon after. Despite winning ample possession, especially through the efforts of Liam Kearney at midfield, Kerry found it difficult to transfer this possession into scores but Kerry did finish the half on top with Conor Cox pointing a free for a foul on Philip O’Connor and then O’Connor pointed twice in quick succession before Niall Harney pointed to leave the half time score 1-6 to 0-7 in favour of the Model county.

Former All Star Mattie Forde was introduced on the resumption and got on the scoresheet early but Conor Cox and Philip O’Connor pointed to leave just the minimum between the sides. Kerry continued to get ample possession but Ciaran Redmond pointed before Michael Dwyer capitalised on that poor sideline shot to put Wexford five clear and in the driving seat. They had not factored for that final quarter onslaught by Kerry however who finally spread the Wexford defence from wing to wing to open up that gaps that resulted in the winning scores.

Kerry: Conor Cox 2-4 (4fr), Philip O’Connor 0-3, Killian Spillane 1-0, Brendan O’Sullivan 0-2, Liam Kearney, James Walsh, Jeff O’Donoghue, Thomas Hickey 0-1 each.
Kerry: Shane Murphy (Kilcummin), Dan O’Donoghue (Spa), David Culhane (Ballylongford), Eamonn Kiely (Brosna), James Walsh (Knocknagoshel), Tadgh Morley (Templenoe), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia), Liam Kearney (Spa), Brian Crowley (Templenoe), Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk), Philip O’Connor (Cordal), Alan O’Donoghue (C) (John Mitchels), Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets), Jordan Kiely (Dr Crokes). Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds).
Subs: Killian Spillane (Templenoe) for Jeff O’Donoghue, Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia) for Gary O’Sullivan, Thomas Hickey (Desmonds) for Jordan Kiely, Adan Barry (Brosna) for Alan O’Donoghue.

Kerry Junior Football Team
All Ireland Semi Final V Wexford Fraher Field Dungarvan Sat July 25th 2015

The Kerry Junior Football Team to play Wexford in the All Ireland Junior Football Semi final in Dungarvan on Saturday at 2pm shows one change in personnel from the side that defeated Cork in the provincial final with Listry’s Gary O’Sullivan, introduced as a sub in that game, coming in at midfield in place of Brendan O’Sullivan. Killian Spillane joins the match day panel instead of the injured Greg Gibson.
The team, captained by Alan O’Donoghue of John Mitchels is as follows:

1 Shane Murphy Kilcummin

2 Dan O’Donoghue Spa

3 Jack McGuire Listowel Emmets

4 David Culhane Ballylongford

5 James Walsh Knocknagoshel

6 Tadhg Morley Templenoe

7 Gavin Crowley Templenoe

8 Gary O’Sullivan Listry

9 Liam Kearney Spa

10 Brian Crowley Templenoe

11 Jeff O’Donoghue Glenflesk

12 Philip O’Connor Cordal

13 Thomas Hickey Castleisland Desmonds

14 Conor Cox Listowel Emmets

15 Alan O’Donoghue (C) John Mitchels

Fir Ionaid:

16 Darragh O’Shea Ballydonoghue

17 Eamon Kiely Brosna

18 Brian Sugrue Renard

19 Michael Brennan Churchill

20 Brendan O’Sullivan Valentia

21 Jordan Kiely Dr Crokes

22 Adam Barry Brosna

23 David Griffin Ardfert

24 Killian Spillane Templenoe

Bainisteoir: Stephen Wallace (Ardfert)
Roghnoirí: Fergus Clifford (Listry), Denis O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), Timmy O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys)

Additional Info:

Additional Squad Members:
Paudie Clifford Fossa
Roibeard Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

On the Injured List:
Denis Daly St Marys
Greg Gibson Waterville
Patrick Clifford Templenoe
Liam Carey Beaufort
Brian Rayel Lispole

The Kerry Junior Football Team to play Wexford contains 5 of the side defeated by Cavan in the All Ireland Junior Final last year namely; Shane Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Philip O’Connor, Brian Crowley and Thomas Hickey, while substitute Brendan O’Sullivan also started . The O’Donoghues, Jeff and Alan were substitutes on the day,

Twin brothers, Gavin and Brian Crowley were members of the Under 21 team this year while Spa club-mates, Dan O’Donoghue and Liam Kearney were members of the successful Kerry Minor Team last year with three more of last year’s minors, Brian Sugrue, Jordan Kiely and Killian Spillane listed among the substitutes.