fb twitter yt

The Garveys SuperValu SHC Round 1 Preview 2015-07-15 22:40:00

Garveys Supervalu County Senior Hurling Championship – Round 1 Preview

Round 1 of the 2015 Garvey’s Supervalu Kerry senior hurling championship [Corn Neilus Ó Floinn] will take place over the coming weekend.The Senior Hurling championship will be played in the ‘Christy Ring’ format so all teams will again be out on the following weekend when the winners play winners and losers play losers. As the games will be played on North Kerry clubs pitches, supporters are requested to come to the venues in plenty of time to facilitate easy access and parking.

All you want to know about the Games :

Ballyheigue V Lixnaw

When? Friday 17th
Where? Abbeydorney
Time? 7pm
Referee? Cathal McAllister (Corcaigh)

Trainer: Gerry Murphy
Captain: Jason Griffin
Last won SHC: 2000
2014: Defeated by Lixnaw in Round 1 and by Abbeydorney in Round 2.

Trainer: Mark Foley
Captain: Michael Conway
Last won SHC: 2014
2014: Won the Neilus Flynn Cup with a replay victory over Kilmoyley .

Crotta O’Neills V Kilmoyley
When? Sunday 19th
Where? Causeway
Time? 1:30pm
Referee? Jason Mullins (Luimneach)

Crotta O’Neills
Trainer: Brendan O’Mahony
Coach: Humphrey Doody
Captain: Richard Nolan
Last Won SHC: 1968
2014: Defeated Abbeydorney in Round 1, defeated by Kilmoyley in Round 2 and defeated by Ballyduff in Round 2.

Trainer/coach: John Meyler
Captain: Sean Maunsell
Last Won SHC: 2009
2014: Defeated Causeway in Round 1 and Crotta O’Neills in Round 2 and Ballyduff in the semi final. Defeated in the final after a replay by Lixnaw.

Abbeydorney V St Brendans

When? Sunday 19th
Where? Causeway
Time? 3pm
Referee? Diarmuid Kirwan (Corcaigh)

Trainer: Ian Maunsell
Coach: Mick Mangan
Captain: Aidan Healy
Last won SHC: 1974
2014: Lost to Crotta in Round 1, defeated Ballyheigue in Round 2, defeated by Lixnaw in Round 3.

St Brendans
Trainer/Coach: John Mortell
Captain: Darren Delaney
Last Won SHC: 2013Trainer/Manager: Pat O'Driscoll
Hurling Coach: John Mortell
2014: Defeated Ballyduff in Round 1 and Lixnaw in Round 2, defeated by Lixnaw in semi final after a replay.

Causeway V Ballyduff
When? Sunday 19th
Where? Kilmoyley
Time: 6pm
Referee: Ciarán O’Regan (Corcaigh)

Trainer: Pat Ryan
Captain: Thomas Casey
Last Won SHC: 1998
2014: Defeated by Kilmoyley in Round 1 and by Ballyduff in Round 2.

Trainer: James Collins
Captain: Mikey Boyle
Last Won SHC: 2012
2014: Defeated by St Brendans in Round 1, defeated Causeway in Round 2 and Crotta in Round 3 but defeated by Kilmoyley in the semi finals.

More Info
Extra Time applies in all 4 First Round games.
The Draw for Round 2 will be made in Kilmoyley immediately after the Causeway v Ballyduff game
Round 2 games – Winners V Winners and Losers V Losers – will take place on the weekend of July 26th

Garveys Supervalu Senior Hurling Championship

The following fixtures were confirmed by the CCC on 9/7/15 for Round 1 of the Garveys Supervalu Senior Hurling Championship:

Friday 17th July
Ballyheigue V Lixnaw 7pm in Abbeydorney
Sunday 19th July
Crotta O’Neills V Kilmoyley @ 1:30 in Causeway
Abbeydorney V St Brendans @ 3pm in Causeway
Causeway V Ballyduff @ 6pm in Kilmoyley


The Garveys SuperValu Senior Hurling Championship Round 1 Draw was made live on Radio Kerry today.

The draw made by Tim Moynihan from sponsors The Garvey Group and Ger McCarthy Hurling Officer from Kerry County Committee is as follows:

Round 1 Games from The Garvey's Supervalu Senior Hurling Championship 2015.

Ballyheigue V Lixnaw

Causeway V Ballyduff

Crotta O'Neills V Kilmoyley

Abbeydorney V St Brendan's