fb twitter yt

Keanes SuperValu Killorglin MFL: Moyvane -Tarbert win Div 6 B 2015-05-02 22:38:00

Keanes SuperValu Killorglin MFL: Moyvane -Tarbert win Div 6 B

The Div 6B final of the Keane’s Super Valu minor County league was played in Finuge on Friday evening May 1st. Despite the poor weather conditions, the two combined teams of Moyvane/Tarbert and Brosna/Knocknagoshel served up a most entertaining contest that was in doubt up until the final few minutes. The excellent condition of the Finuge pitch helped greatly in ensuring a lively contest.

Moyvane/Tarbert opened brightly with three early points from Colin Enright (free), Finbar Carrig and Shea McDonnell. Brosna/Knock responded with two quick goals from the impressive wingback Darren Horan after a good pass from Patrick Moriarty and a second from the boot of David Cahill. Points from Cillian Langan and McDonnell for the North Kerry side reduced the margin to a point before Brosna midfielder Kieran O Donnell kicked a free from 40 yards. Langan replied for Moyvane/Tarbert before the St. Kierans outfit tagged on three more points from Darragh O Connell, Darren Horan and Patrick Moriarty giving them a 4-point advantage approaching the short whistle. Just before the referee Christy Crowley blew for half time Moyvane’s Colin Enright weaved his way through the Brosna/Knock defence and stuck the ball in the net leaving the half time score Brosna/Knock 2-4, Tarbert/Moyvane 1-6.

The second half began in a welter of excitement. On their first attack Brosna/Knock were awarded a penalty and despite Jamie Diggins getting a hand to it, he could not prevent it from hitting the net. Moyvane/Tarbert attacked straight away and Tarbert Midfielder Shea McDonnell got his sides’ second goal. Langan with 2 points and one from Carrig for the North Kerry side before Moriarty and Horan edged Brosna/Knock ahead. Micheal Heaphy levelled matters after a good individual score entering the final stages. From here to the finish, Moyvane/Tarbert took over with six unanswered points from Colin Enright (4), Jerry Clancy and Gavin Kennelly.

Colin Enright received the man of the match award, which was kindly sponsored by Keane’s Super Valu, and Christy Killeen presented the winning trophy to Finbar Carrig, Captain of the victorious Moyvane/Tarbert team.

Final score: Moyvane/Tarbert 2-16, Brosna/Knock 3-6


Moyvane/Tarbert; Jamie Diggins, Jack Healy, Gearoid Mulvihill, Gerry Clancy, Shane Carmody, James Stack, Michael Heaphy, Edward Moore, Colin Enright, Finbar Carrig, Jack Goulding, Shea McDonnell, Cillian langan. Subs Cillian Brosnan, Ross McElligott, Liam Leahy, Donal Stack, Gavin Kennelly, James Enright, Ricky O Sullivan, Dale Mulvihill.

Brosna/Knock: Ian Walsh, Darragh O Connell, Killian Fitzmaurice, Milan Williams, Kieran Horan, Darren Horan, Kieran O Donnell, David O Donoghue, Killian O Connor, Killian Keane, David Cahill, Patrick Moriarty, Darragh O Connell. Subs John Walsh, Kieran Ward, Jack McAulliffe, Padraig Hickey, Darragh O Connor, Andrew Tees, Stephen O Regan, Darragh Nash.

Click here for Gallery of MFL Finals 2015