fb twitter yt

Kerry U21s v Monaghan U21s - Hastings Cup 2015-01-24 19:38:00

Kerry Under 21 Footballers advance to Hastings Cup Plate Final

Kerry 3-12 Monaghan 0-8

Kerry advanced to the Plate Final of the Hastings Cup at Emo outside Portlaoise today when proving too strong for Monaghan in the semi final and will now play the winners of the other semi final between Tipperary and Laois in the Final.

Kerry got off to a good start and were 4 points to 1 up by the 20th minute with Conor Keane converting three of those scores from placed balls. Monaghan fought back to level the game at 4 points each during a tough second quarter, but Kerry served notice of what was to come when Cillian Fitzgerald brought a fine save from the Monaghan keeper. When the goal did come just before the break it came courtesy of Jack Barry  who drove home a loose ball that fell nicely after good build up play from Darragh Roche, Michéal Burns followed up with a point, Kerry were four clear at the break, 1-5 to 0-4.

Kerry kept the scoreboard ticking over on the resumption with points from Brian Crowley, Micheal Burns, Conor Keane (2) and Dara Roche to lead by 1-10 to 0-6 by the 40th minute and then either side of the three quarter mark, Kerry struck for two goals to secure the win. First, Cillian Fitzgerald finished off a length of the field move involving Micheal Burns and soon after Dara Roche finished strongly to the net after another defence splitting move. 

Sub Kevin McCarthy and Conor Keane completed the scoring as Kerry ran out deserving winners.

Scorers: Kerry: Conor Keane 0-6 (Frees), Dara Roche 1-1, Jack Barry and Cillian Fitzgerald 1-0 each, Brian Crowley and Michéal Burns 0-2 each, Kevin McCarthy 0-1.

Kerry: Darragh O'Shea (Ballydonoghue), Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht),   Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Sean T. Dillon (St Senans), Cathal Murphy (Rathmore), Denis Daly (St Marys), Cathal Ó Luing (An Ghaeltacht), Jack Barry (Na Gaeil), Eanna O' Conchúir  (An Ghaeltacht),  Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes), Brian Crowley (Templenoe), Matthew Flaherty (Dingle), Dara Roche (Glenflesk), Cillian Fitzgerald (Churchill) , Conor Keane (Killarney Legion).

Subs:  Killian Spillane (Templenoe), Liam Carey (Beaufort), Donal Maher (Kilcummin), Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin), David Foran (St Senans), Paul McMahon (St Pats).