fb twitter yt

Lixnaw win their 9th County MHC 2014-10-07 15:25:00

Keanes SuperValu Killorglin Minor Hurling Final
Lixnaw 3 - 18 South Kerry 1 – 9

Lixnaw won their 9th Kerry Minor Hurling Championship title with a comprehensive 3 – 18 to 1 – 9 win over South Kerry at Abbeydorney on Saturday, 4th October.
A superb second half from Lixnaw was the reason they won this title with ease.
Yet at half time it was the South Kerry men who were leading the way when they turned over at the break 1 – 8 to 0 – 6 ahead and Lixnaw had made little headway during that first period. However early goals from the winners, both from Jeremy McKenna in the 32nd and 36th minutes gave them a lead they were never to lose.

They proceeded to dominate the game with a succession of points, both from frees and play. In fact South Kerry only scored 1 point during that entire second half, a late free from Patrick O’Shea. The game was over as a contest with 20 minutes to go and Lixnaw won the game pulling up. A late goal from substitute Brendan Angland added to the woes of South Kerry.
Outstanding for Lixnaw were Liam Mullins, William O’Connor, Colin Sheehy and John Buckley, scorer of 10 points, who was awarded the Man of the Match Award. John Mark Foley had a superb game for South Kerry at centre back and he was ably assisted by Patrick O’Shea, Aaron Murphy and Shane Lyne.

Tar éis an chluiche, bhronnaigh Gerard McCarthy, Oifigeach Iomána Coiste Chontae Chiarraí Corn Seán Ó Luibheíd ar Davin Quilter, captain Leac Sná.

D’imir na foirne seo leanas:
Leac Sná:
Robert Silles, Tom Foley, David Silles, Brian McAuliffe, Gerard Stackpoole, Darragh Shanahan (0-1), Conor O’Keeffe, Liam Mullins, William O’Connor (0-1), John Buckley (0-10, 8f), Jeremy McKenna (0-2), Shane O’Sullivan (0-1), Colin Sheehy (1 -2), Jason Keane (2-0), Davin Quilter. Subs. Brendan Angland (0-1), Thomas Molyneaux.

Ciarraí Theas: Patrick McCarthy (Kilgarvan), Eoghan Browne (Dr. Crokes), David Crowley (Kenmare), Shane O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan), Shane Lyne (Dr. Crokes), John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan), Daniel O’Brien (Dr. Crokes), Jack Lenihan (Dr. Crokes), Brian O’Sullivan (Kenmare) (0-1), Michael Burns (Dr. Crokes), Patrick O’Shea (Kilgarvan) (0-7f), Chris Doncel (Dr. Crokes) capt., Aaron Murphy (Dr. Crokes) (0-1), Fionán O’Sullivan (Kenmare) (1-0).Ciaran Kennedy (Dr. Crokes), Sub.: Flor O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan).