fb twitter yt

ScÓr Sinsear - All Ireland Finals 2017-05-04 20:04:00

Scór Sinsear craóbh na hEireann 

The All Ireland finals of Coiste Scór Sinsear in the Quiz will take place at the Waterfront Theatre, Belfast on this Saturday May 6th with a starting time of 11am. Kerry’s only representative at the finals will be the Rathmore Quiz team, former three time All Ireland winners of this competition which consists of Donie O’Leary, John S. O’Sullivan, Tony Moynihin and Dan Vincent O’Connor.

Down through the years this discipline of Scór has generated great interest amongst the Clubs of the county with both Churchill (Senior) and Spa, (Junior) both deprived of a recent 3-in-a-row of All Ireland titles by a single point. Certainly Rathmore, former All Ireland senior winners, are no strangers to this stage of the competition having won national titles on three  previous occasions; in fact they have been pipped at the post for the last three years by Churchill  at county level who went on to win national Quiz titles.  A tie breaker was needed to separate the teams on two occasions at county final level. This will give an indication of the standard of competition in the County where at least five other clubs were also in contention for honours.

Kerry have won six national titles in the Quiz with Firies crowned champions for the first time for the Kingdom in 1980 followed by Rathmore  (1995, 2007, 2011)  and Churchill (2014, 2015).

The remainder of the days programme will get underway at 3pm.