fb twitter yt

Meath defeat Kerry in Leinster Hurling Championship Rd.1 2017-04-23 20:37:00

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Qualifier Round 1: 

Courtesy of Leinster GAA

Meath 3-20

Kerry 2-17

Meath celebrated their return to Leinster Senior Hurling Championship action with a six point defeat of Kerry at Pairc Tailteann.

Despite the concession of a first minute goal, Meath responded to lead by three at the interval and although they suffered some anxious moments in the closing stages, deservedly claimed both points.

Kerry were six points behind before Mikey Boyle fired home a goal in injury-time and they pressed hard for an equaliser. But Meath held firm and Cathal McCabe raised a green flag at the other end to secure a famous victory for the Royal County. The early omens didn’t look good for Meath as Shane Nolan opened the scoring with a Kerry goal after only 14 seconds.
Meath took the lead for the first time in the tenth minute with a Sean Quigley goal directly from a sideline and they led by 1-10 to 1-7 at the interval.

By the 44th minute, Meath had increased their advantage to five points and when Kevin Keena struck for their second goal five minutes later, they led by 2-15 to 1-10.
Four points in a row started the Kerry comeback and they were back in the hunt for at least a share of the spoils when Boyle’s goal left just three between the sides.
But Meath lifted the siege and finished on a high which sets them up nicely for the challenge of Laois in seven days’ time.

Meath Scorers: Steven Clynch 0-7 (6fs), Sean Quigley 1-3 (1-0 s/l), Kevin Keena 1-0, Cathal McCabe 1-0, Adam Gannon 0-3, Mark O’Sullivan 0-2, Anthony Forde 0-1, Keith Keogan 0-1, Daragh Kelly 0-1, Gavin McGowan 0-1, Neil Heffernan 0-1.

Kerry Scorers: Shane Nolan 1-9 (6fs), Mikey Boyle 1-1, Michael O’Leary 0-2, Jordan Conway 0-1, Philip Lucid 0-1, Bryan Murphy 0-1, Maurice O’Connor 0-1, Jack Goulding 0-1.

MEATH: Shane McGann; Cormac Reilly, Damian Healy, Shane Whitty; Keith Keogan, Daragh Kelly, Shane Brennan; Anthony Forde, Joe Keena; Sean Quigley, Steven Clynch, James Kelly; Gavin McGowan, Mark O’Sullivan, Adam Gannon.
Subs: Sean Geraghty for Healy (13), Kevin Keena for Kelly (45), Neil Heffernan for Quigley (55), Cathal McCabe for McGowan (63), Padraig Kelly for Gannon (69).

KERRY: Aiden McCabe; Tom Murnane, Rory Horgan, Sean Weir; John Buckley, Bryan Murphy, Darren Dineen; Tommy Casey, Paudie O’Connor; Mikey Boyle, Patrick Kelly, Keith Carmody; Philip Lucid, Shane Nolan, Jordan Conway.
Subs: Michael O’Leary for Kelly (35+1), Jack Goulding for Casey (h/t), Maurice O’Connor for Carmody (47), Brendan O’Leary for Lucid (55), Colm Harty for Conway (67).

REFEREE: S Cleere (Kilkenny).