fb twitter yt

Moynihan's troops deliver county minor title to the East 2016-10-23 21:21:00

Keanes Supervalu Killorglin County Minor Football Final:
Moynihan’s troops deliver county minor title to the East
East Kerry 3-15 Mid Kerry 0-9
By Murt Murphy

A superb second-half showing during which they scored 2-9 helped Seamus Moynihan’s East Kerry secure their first Keane’s Supervalu Kerry MFC title since 2013 at the expense of a brave Mid Kerry outfit.

East Kerry was dominant in all sectors of the field. Crucial factors in turning the tide in their favour were the scintillating runs of man of the match Daniel O’Brien and Dara Moynihan, the score-taking ability of David Clifford and the contributions of subs Dean Fitzgerald, Ian Roche and Niall McCarthy, who scored 2-6 between them.

Video courtesy of SidelineEye

Mid Kerry made the brighter opening as East Kerry was slow to settle despite having the aid of the breeze. Mid Kerry attacked from the throw-in and Mike Breen found centre-back Neil O’Brien raiding on his left and O’Brien pointed Mid Kerry in front.
Dara Moynihan then supplied David Spillane with a good ball and Spillane drove over the equaliser.
Mid Kerry were playing a short passing game against the wind and it paid dividends with points in the 5th minute from Ciaran Kennedy and a free from Patrick Daly. David Clifford was fouled at the other end and David Spillane closed the gap before Mid Kerry missed a 45 which Patrick Daly dropped into the keeper’s hands.
Kerry star David Clifford was soon in the action when he kicked a fine point to level the contest as East Kerry slowly began to get to grips with Mark Ryan becoming a central figure around midfield.
The crucial score of the half came in the 16th minute when Mark Ryan found Shane O’Sullivan and he offloaded to David Spillane who finished to the Mid Kerry net. East Kerry were inclined to foul a lot with the free count against them 13-3 before David Clifford was unlucky to see his effort for a point go inches wide in the 20th minute.
Then Shane O’Sullivan and Fiachra Clifford from a free swapped scores before East Kerry sub Dean Fitzgerald kicked the point of the half from the left wing. Following this David Clifford was fouled in the act of shooting and he sent a free from over 50 yards between the posts. Mid Kerry continued to counter-attack and Kerry minor Caolim Teahan playing in attack reduced the deficit to four before Kerry minor centre back Daniel O’Brien surged forward to complete the first half scoring and East Kerry led 1-7 to 0-5 at the interval. The game was still up for grabs with Mid Kerry having the wind in the second period.

Ciaran Kennedy opened the 2nd half scoring for Mid Kerry before East Kerry hit back with four in a row from David Clifford and a Niall McCarthy effort to push them 1-12 to 0-7 clear and effectively end the game as a contest.
David Clifford raised another East Kerry minor before Ciaran Kennedy replied with a brace for Mid Kerry.
East Kerry manager Seamus Moynihan emptied his bench and Ian Roche added his first point before Ciaran Kennedy replied for the Mid Kerry men.
East Kerry ran riot in the final minutes and goals from Ian Roche, Niall McCarthy and a Dean Fitzgerald point were the final nails in the Mid Kerry coffin.
After the game, County Committee chairman, Patrick O’Sullivan presented the Frank King Cup to East Kerry Captain David Spillane and Seamus Kerrisk of Keanes Suprvalu Killorglin presented the Man of the Match award to East Kerry’s Daniel O’Brien.

East Kerry: D Clifford 0-7 (0-5f); D Spillane, I Roche (1-2 each); N McCarthy 1-1, D Fitzgerald 0-2, D O’Brien and S O’Sullivan 0-1 each.
Mid Kerry: C Kennedy 0-5 (0-2 frees); C Teahan, N O’Brien, F Clifford and P Daly (1f each) 0-1 each,
East Kerry:
Conor McCarthy ( Legion); Chris O’Donoghue ( Glenflesk), Eoghan Cronin ( Spa), Cian Gammell( Legion), Connie O’Connor ( Gneeveguilla), Daniel O’Brien( Glenflesk), Pa Warren ( Gneeveguilla); Mark Ryan ( Rathmore), J J Herlihy ( Gneeveguilla); Dara Moynihan ( Spa), David Spillane ( Spa), Aaron McCarthy ( Listry); John O’Leary ( Gneeveguilla), David Clifford ( Fossa), Shane O’Sullivan ( Gneeveguilla)
Subs: D Fitzgerald ( Rathmore) for J J Herlihy ( 25); D Crowley ( Gneeveguilla) for E Cronin ( h/t); N McCarthy ( Spa) for J O’Leary ( h/t); S O’Leary ( Kilcummin) for C O’Connor ( 40); I Roche for S O’Sullivan ( 47); D Cronin ( Rathmore) for A McCarthy ( 56).
Mid Kerry;
Cormac Leane ( Milltown/Castlemaine); Jonathan Kissane ( Beaufort), Cormac Coffey ( Beaufort), Ciaran O’Connor ( Milltown/Castlemaine); Caolim Teahan ( Glenbeigh/Glencar), Neil O’Brien ( Laune Rangers), Patrick Carey ( Laune Rangers); Oisin O’Connor ( Glenbeigh/Glencar)), Mike Breen ( Beaufort); Fiáchra Clifford ( Laune Rangers), Ciarán Kennedy ( Beaufort), Patrick Daly ( Laune Rangers); Dara Cleary ( Laune Rangers), Dara Casey(Glenbeigh/Glencar), Darragh O’Connor ( Laune Rangers)
Subs: J Clifford (Laune Rangers) for D Cleary (40); I McGillycuddy (Beaufort) for O O’Connor; C O Shea (Laune Rangers) for P Daly (53); C Bradley (Milltown/Castlemaine) for N O’Brien (53).
Referee: E Moran (Ballydonoghue)
Click Here for some photos