fb twitter yt

Kerry Minor Hurlers qualify for All Ireland B Final 2016-08-13 17:45:00

All-Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship- semi-final:
Kerry still on course for 5 in a row
Kerry 2-19 Down 1-15

Kerry remain on course for the 5 –in-a row All-Ireland Minor B titles after a convincing victory over Down in the semi-final played in Newbridge on Saturday afternoon but they have to improve in a number of departments if they are to achieve their goal.

Kerry were strong down the centre with Conor O’Keeffe at full-back, Liam Mullins at centre back, Shane Conway at midfield and their chief marksmen up front Barry O’Mahony and man of the match Eric Leen.

Kerry were well on top in the first half but shot too many wides but they struck for a crucial goal in the 15th minute when Shane Conway drove through the middle and his pass to Barry O’Mahony was brilliantly controlled by O’Mahony before he drilled the ball to the Down net. He also added 0-5 from frees and play while Eric Leen had 0-2 as Kerry retired 1-12 to 0-7 in front at the interval with Down heavily reliant on two players, Ruairí McCrickard (0-3) and Daithi Sands (0-3) for their scores.

Down were reduced to 14 players early in the second half when wing back Callum Smyth received a second yellow and Kerry started to play more defensive and took poor scoring options. Down thundered back into the game with Conor McCrickard scoring a 40th minute goal, to reduce the deficit to just two points.

But Kerry were not to be denied as substitute Thomas O’Connor steadied the ship at the back and they added four answered points to move six clear again. McCrickard reduced to four with six minutes left but Eric Leen who was outstanding in the second half, side footed home soccer style in the 55th minute and Kerry were now out of reach and through to another All-Ireland Final where they will face Meath.

Scorers: Kerry: B. O’Mahony 1-5 (2f), E. Leen 1-3, S. Conway 0-4 (2f, 1 ’65), C. Sheehy 0-3; B. McAuliffe, and M. O’Connor, M. McCarthy, T. O’Connor 0-1 each
Down: C. McCrickard 1-5 (2f), R. McCrickard 0-6 (5f), D. Sands 0-3, D. McCartney 0-1

Kerry: Adam O’Sullivan, Bryan McAuliffe, Conor O’Keeffe, Evan Murphy, Gearoíd Fennessy, Liam Mullins, Thomas Quinlan, Conor Galway, Shane Conway, Colin Sheehy, Eric Leen, Darragh Goulding, Padraig O’Mahony, Barry O’Mahony, Maurice O’Connor
Subs: Tomás O’Connor for Quinlan (34m): Micheál McCarthy for Goulding (46m): Gary Carey for Galway (51m)

Conor McLornan, Eoin Kelly, Paddy Branagan, Jake Carlin, Callum Smyth, Eoin Coulter, Donal Og Rooney, Ruairí McCrickard, Tom Murray, Conor McCrickard, Declan McCartney, Philip Miskimmon, Daithi Sands, Adrian Mee, Stephen McKey
Subs: Niall Fitzsimmons for Miskimmon (48m): Michael Napier for Rooney (50m): Colin McPolin for Fitzsimmons (60m)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Click Here for some photos from the game.

Kerry Minor Hurling Team V Down
Electric Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship Semi Final

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Down in the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship Semi Final in Newbridge on Saturday at 1:30pm is as follows:

1 Adam O’Sullivan Crotta O’Neills
2 Philip Maunsell Kilmoyley
3 Conor O’Keeffe Lixnaw
4 Evan Murphy Causeway
5 Gearoíd Fennessy Kilgarvan
6 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
7 Thomas Quinlan Crotta O’Neills
8 Conor Galwey Ballyheigue
9 Shane Conway (C) Lixnaw
10 Coilin Sheehy Lixnaw
11 Eric Leen St Brendans
12 Micheál McCarthy Kenmare
13 Padraig O’Mahony St Brendans
14 Barry O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
15 Maurice O’Connor Kilmoyley
Fir Ionaid:
16 Robert Silles Lixnaw
17 Darragh Behan Crotta O’Neills
18 Darragh Goulding Ballyduff
19 Gary Carey Causeway
20 Nial O’Mahony Abbeydorney
21 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
22 Jeaic McKenna Crotta O’Neills
23 Bryan McAuliffe Lixnaw
24 Ciarán Breen Tralee Parnells

Additional Panel Members:
25 Adrian Nolan St Brendans
26 Shane O’Mahony St Brendans
27 Gerard Leen Causeway
28 Chris Creedon Kilgarvan
29 Brandon Conway Crotta O’Neills
30 Jack O’Sullivan Ballyduff
31 Sean O’Donoghue Crotta O’Neills
32 Geroid O’Mahony Causeway

Bainisteoir: John Hennessy (Ballyduff)
Jerome O’Sullivan (Crotta O’Neills), Eamonn Fitzgearld (Causeway), John Healy (Ballyheigue).
Treánalaí: John Barry (St Senans)