fb twitter yt

Kerry Under 21 Hurlers advance to Semi Finals 2016-08-06 17:55:00

Kerry Under 21 Hurlers advance to Semi Finals
Kerry 7-22 Donegal 1-4

Kerry Under 21 Hurlers easily advanced to the semi finals of the Bórd Gais Energy Under 21 B Hurling Championship at Semple Stadium yesterday having it all their own way against the “C” champions Donegal.

Kerry had the game wrapped up well before half time with goals from Michael O’Leary (2), Philip Lucid, Fionán O’Sullivan and Jordan Conway and the Kingdom led by 5-11 to 0-2 at the break.

Jordan Conway got two more goals in the second period as Kerry ran the bench and they now meet Meath in the semi final of the competition on August 20th.

Mayo meet the winners of the Roscommon/Armagh game in the other semi final.

Kerry Scorers: Jordan Conway 3-1, Phiip Lucid 1-6, Michael O’Leary 2-1, Cian Hussey 0-3, Fionán O’Sullivan 1-0, Fionán Horgan, John Buckley, Jason Wallace 0-2 each, Jordan Brick, Keith Carmody, David Egan, Matthew Flaherty, Jack Goulding 0-1 each.
Subs Used: David Egan, Matthew Flaherty, Jason Wallace, Cathal Kearney, Daniel O’Carroll.

Kerry Under 21 Hurling Team V Donegal – All Ireland Under 21 B Championship
Saturday 6th Aug 2016 4PM in Semple Stadium, Thurles.

1 Stephen Murphy Causeway
2 Fionán Horgan St Brendans
3 Darragh Shanahan Lixnaw
4 Billy Lyons Causeway
5 John Buckley Lixnaw
6 Jason Diggins Causeway
7 Keith Carmody (C) Causeway
8 Philp Lucid Ballyheigue
9 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
10 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
11 Michael O’Leary Abbeydorney
12 Jordan Brick Kilmoyley
13 Cian Hussey St Brendans
14 Fionán O’Sullivan Kenmare
15 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills
Fir Ionaid:
16 David Silles Lixnaw
17 Jason Wallace Lixnaw
18 Daniel O’Carroll Ballyduff
19 Stevie O’Sullivan Abbeydorney
20 Matthew Flaherty Dingle
21 Adrian O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
22 Cathal Kearney Ballyduff
23 Joe Diggins Causeway
24 Eoin Ross Ballyduff
Additional Members on the Kerry Panel: David Egan (Abbeydorney), Ronan O’Donovan (Abbeydorney), Brendan Dunne (Ballyheigue), Kieran McCarthy (Kilmoyley), Robert Collins (Kilmoyley), Willie O’Connor (Lixnaw), John Hussey (Ballyduff).

Bainisteoír: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí: D.J. Leahy (Causeway), John Lucid (Ballyheigue), Aidan O’Mahony (St Brendans)
Physio: Trudy Ryan
Liason Officer : Ger McCarthy

Kerry Under 21 Hurling
The Kerry Under 21 Hurling Team to play Donegal in Thurles on Sunday at 4pm will be named on Thursday evening at 9pm

Under 21 ‘B’ Championship
The Kerry under 21 hurlers travel to Semple Stadium, Thurles on this Saturday, 6th August to play Donegal in the quarter final of the All-Ireland ‘B’ championship. The game goes ahead at 4.00p.m. and will be the curtain raiser to the All-Ireland Intermediate championship final between Clare and Kilkenny.
The trophy for this competition, the Richie McElligott Cup, commemorates the former Lixnaw and Kerry hurler who was a member of the Kerry team that won the All-Ireland junior championship in 1961 and who won a co. senior hurling medal with Lixnaw in 1954. If Kerry are involved, the semi-final will be on Saturday, 20th August and the final on Saturday, 10th September.