fb twitter yt

Impressive Kerry Minors March on 2016-07-31 14:10:00

Electric Ireland MFC Quarter-Final
Kerry 1-24 Derry 2-10

By Jackie Cahill at Croke Park for GAA.ie

Peter Keane’s Kerry scored all bar one point of this afternoon’s winning tally from play as they cruised into the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor football championship semi-finals.

Ten players got on the scoresheet as the Kingdom saw off Derry by 11 points at Croke Park to set up a semi-final against Kildare or Mayo on August 28.

This was excellent stuff from treble-chasing Kerry, who had a haul of 1-6 from inspirational captain Seán O’Shea, a member of last year’s All-Ireland winning team.

O’Shea was aided and abetted by the scoring exploits of the Davids, Shaw and Clifford, who split 10 points from play between them.

Shaw bagged four points in a row between the 38th and 45th minutes as Kerry, who outscored their opponents by 1-12 to 0-4 in the second half, stepped on the gas.

Derry got in for two crucial first half goals and had parity at the interval – 2-6 to 0-12 – but Kerry had the greater firepower as O’Shea, Shaw, and Clifford called the tune.

O’Shea was exceptional in that opening half, kicking five of his six points from play, while the Kingdom targeted Derry goalkeeper Ben McKinless and his kick-outs, profiting on a number of occasions.

The sides were level three times within the opening 16 minutes before a run of four unanswered points opened up a four-point lead for Kerry.

McKinless then came forward for a 20m free which he dragged dreadfully wide at the Hill 16 end but Derry had their opening goal in the 24th minute as Patrick Quigg scrambled the ball home at the second attempt, after his initial effort was saved by Billy Courtney.

The Oak Leafers were now very much back in the hunt, trailing by 1-4 to 0-8, but Kerry stepped on the gas to open up a five-point lead by the 28th minute.

As Hogan Cup final hero Clifford picked off a couple of points, one from another loose McKinless kick-out, Kerry moved 0-12 to 1-4 in front.

But Derry were resilient and after Feargal Higgins somehow wriggled his way through for a 30th-minute goal, points from impressive midfielder Patrick Coney and wing-back Pádraig McGrogan levelled matters at the interval.

But Kerry opened the second half with intent, Daniel O’Brien fisting a point before O’Shea banged home a 33rd minute goal off the post.

Brian Friel added to Kerry’s lead and while Caolan Devlin opened Derry’s second half account, with a free, Shaw opened up with that quartet of quickfire scores to send his team into an eight-point lead – 1-18 to 2-7.

The margin stretched to 11 by full-time as Kerry won pulling up.

Scorers for Kerry: S O’Shea 1-6 (1f), D Clifford and D Shaw 0-5 each, D O’Brien 0-2, M Potts, M Breen, M Ryan, D Moynihan, B Friel and C Teahan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Derry: F Higgins 1-2 (1f), P Quigg 1-0, P Coney 0-3, C Devlin 0-3 (3fs), P McGrogan and S Higgins 0-1 each.

Kerry: B Courtney; D Naughton, G O’Sullivan, N Collins; M Potts, D O’Brien, M Foley; M Breen, M Ryan; B Sweeney, S O’Shea, D Moynihan; F O’Brien, D Shaw, D Clifford.
Subs: B Friel for O’Brien (h.t.), C Teahan for Sweeney (44), S Okunbar for Ryan (55), K Dwyer for Potts (56), C Linnane for Moynihan (59), T O’Connor for Clifford (60+2).

Derry: B McKinless; C McCluskey, G McLaughlin, A Bradley; S McErlain, E Concannon, P McGrogan; P Coney, C Doherty; S Higgins, C Devlin, P Quigg; S Downey, F Higgins, E Bradley.
Subs: O McKeever for Concannon (34), O McWilliams for Downey (37), S Mortimer for McLaughlin (44), R Young for Doherty (45), L Kielt for Bradley (51), J.P. Devlin for McCluskey (55).

Referee: J Hickey (Carlow).


Kerry V Derry Electric Ireland All Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter Final

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Derry in the Electric Ireland All Ireland Minor Football Quarter Final at Croke Park on Sunday next (12 noon) is unchanged from the side that defeated Cork in the Munster Final.

The team, captained by Sean O’Shea is as follows:
1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Graham O'Sullivan Dromid Pearses
5. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheál Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O'Connor Na Gaeil
13. David Clifford Fossa
14. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
15. Brian Friel Rathmore
Fir Ionaid:
16. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
17. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
18. Ferdia O'Brien Austin Stacks
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
21. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
22. Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil
23. Niall Donohue Firies
24. Cormac Linnane Beale

Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Tomás O'Connor Ballymacelligott
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Darren Casey St. Mary's
Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
Fionán Mackessy Ardfert
Karl Mullins Kerins O'Rahillys
Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk
Ryan O’Neill Na Gaeil
Cian Gammell Killarney Legion
Cian O’Callaghan Firies

The team contains three of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Billy Courtney, Sean O’Shea and Bryan Sweeney while three others who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen.
Five of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Michael Potts, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

Kerry Minors take on Derry in Croke Park

Kerry and Derry Minors have an early start on Sunday next at 12 noon when they meet in the quarter finals of the Electric Ireland Minor football Championship in the first game of a treble bill at Croke Park. Kerry are making their fifth consecutive appearance at this level of the competition and they are of course the reigning All Ireland champions. They boast a nice blend of youth and experience with the likes of Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Graham O’Sullivan, Mike Breen and Bryan Sweeney all playing a part in last year’s final and of course Kerry had five points to spare over Derry in last year’s semi final. The likes of Michael Potts, Daniel O’Brien, David Naughton, Niall O’Donoghue, Billy Courtney, Darragh Moynihan, David Shaw and David Clifford, who were part of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning side, will also renew acquaintances with some of the St Pats College players whom they defeated in that final. Kerry defeated easily Waterford in their opening game in Dungarvan and then accounted for Clare in the semi final in Milltown Malbay by six points. In the provincial final Kerry got over the Cork challenge with six points to spare.

Derry defeated Tyrone by eight points and Armagh by six on their way to the Ulster final where they lost out to a highly rated Donegal side by just two points, 2-10 to 1-11. Referee is John Hickey. The remaining quarter finals involve Galway/Laois, KildareMayo, and Donegal/Cork.