fb twitter yt

Kerry Junior Team V Limerick in Munster Junior S/F is named 2016-06-09 20:43:00

Kerry Junior Football Team V Limerick
Munster Championship Semi Final

The Kerry Junior Football Team to play Limerick in the Munster Junior Football semi Final in Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday is a completely new side from the team that won the All Ireland title last year.
Four of the side, Darren Brosnan, Robert Wharton, Brian Ó Seanachain and Liam Carey have won All Ireland Minor medals in the last couple of years, while Fionán Clifford was on the Kerry Junior team that reached the All Ireland Final in 2014.

The team captained by Paul O’Donoghue of St Marys is as follows:

1 Darragh O’Shea Ballydonoghue
2 Darren Brosnan Gneeveguilla
3 Cathal Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
4 Fionán Clifford Waterville
5 Patrick Clifford Templenoe
6 Laurence Bastible John Mitchels
7 Robert Wharton Renard
8 Adrian Spillane Templenoe
9 Michael O’Donnell Austin Stacks
10 Brian Ó Seanacháin Ballydonoghue
11 Liam Carey Beaufort
12 Paul O’Donoghue (C) St Marys
13 Seán Michéal Ó Conchúir An Ghaeltacht
14 Kieran Hurley St Pats
15 Niall O’Shea Dromid Pearses
Fir Ionaid:
16 Kieran Fitzgibbon Kenmare
17 Dara Roche Glenflesk
18 Kevin O’Sullivan Kenmare
19 Adam Barry Brosna
20 Kieran O’Neill Templenoe
21 Dara O’Shea Kenmare
22 Eoghan Courtney Ardfert
23 Evan Cronin Spa
24 Lee O’Donoghue Glenflesk

Bainisteóir: Stephen Wallace (Ardfert)
Róghnóirí: Timmy O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys), Jimmy Keane (Brosna), Brian Hickey (Skellig Rangers).

Additional Players on the Kerry Junior Panel:

Caoimhín Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht) and Paudie Clifford (Fossa).

It’s Kerry V Limerick in the Munster Junior Football Semi final
The curtain raiser to the senior game on Sunday will see Kerry Juniors play Limerick in the Munster semi final. Kerry are of course the reigning Munster and All Ireland Junior Champions, and as such, the Kingdom have to field a whole new team this year. In keeping with policy over the last few years, the Kerry management are concentrating mostly on players who have left the U21 ranks in the last year or so making the lineout an U23 team for all intents and purposes.
Manager, Stephen Wallace (Ardfert), and his selectors, Timmy O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys), P.J. Reidy (Kenmare) and Brian Hickey (Skellig Rangers), have been restricted with the amount of time afforded to them to prepare the squad given the concentration on the senior and club championships over the last two months or so but that situation is par for the course at this level. Opponents, Limerick, have had the very obvious advantage of a game under their belt from the first round when they defeated Clare by 2-13 t0 1-13 at the Gaelic Grounds, but knowing Kerry manager Stephen Wallace, he will no doubt relish this latest challenge on the Kingdom’s home patch of Fitzgerald Stadium.

Throw-in for the game is at 1:30 with James Bermingham of Cork the referee. Cork and Tipperary play in the other semi final with the final fixed for June 30th.