fb twitter yt

Kerry Coiste na nÓg: Lee Strand Feile U14 Hurling Finals 2016-05-07 14:16:00

Kerry Coiste na nOg Notes

Lee Strand Feile Hurling Finals

There was a huge crowd gathered in a resplendent Kilmoyley last Monday evening for the Kerry Feile Hurling Finals and all the hard work in preparations paid off handsomely on a fabulous evening of hurling. Piper Johnny Houlihan led the teams onto the field and Amhran na bhFiann was played before the action got underway, with Coiste na nÓg Chairman Tom Keane thanking everyone, most especially co-ordinator Johnny Conway, all the teams who participated in Feile, the players, supporters, and mentors, and the generous sponsorship of Lee Strand.

A Final: Ballyduff 2-4 Ballyheigue 1-4
Ballyduff got the perfect start when Tommy O’Connor found the net, but Ballyheigue took over at that stage. Nathan Guerin swung over two frees, Conor O’Sullivan and David O’Sullivan forced two brilliant saves out of Ballyduff keeper Darragh Quinlan, and Graham Slattety struck the net to give them a 1-2 to 1-0 lead, only for livewire Dylan Moriarty to pull one back from a free. Half-time Ballyheigue 1-2 Ballyduff 0-1.
Dylan Moriarty restored parity on the resumption but Ballyduff left a few chances behind them before Nathan Guerin hit two frees for Ballyheigue. Kevin Goulding won a free for Dylan Moriarty to pull one back but with one minute left to play, it looked like they wouldn’t be able to bridge that gap. Instead, there was high drama as ballyduff pressed hard, and Dylan Moriarty struck a beautiful shot to the corner of the net. Kevin Goulding hit the last score of the game and Ballyduff’s resilience had snatched the win in a fascinating game of hurling.
Ballyduff: Darragh Quinlan, Kyle O’Connor, Darragh Slattery, Tommy O’Grady, Johnny Kennelly, JP O’Carroll, Kieran O’Carroll, Kevin Goulding, Sean O’Connor, Andrew Murphy, Aidan O’Connor, Adam Segal, Tommy O’Connor, Dylan Moriarty, Anthony Kavanagh, Ethan O’Connor, Joseph Murphy, Adam Farrell, Aodhan Curley, Aaron McCabe, David Whyte, Conor Murphy, Martin Brosnan-Mannix.
Daniel O’Loughlin, Seami o Fuarain, Aidan Reidy, Jack Stack, Thomas Gaynor, Ruaidhri Duggan, Graham Slattery, Colin Walsh, Jordan Goggin, David O’Mahony, Conor O’Sullivan, Eric Walsh, David O’Sullivan, Dillon Casey, Nathan Guerin, Muiris Harty, Denis Lynch, Dara Kearney, Jimmy O’Halloran, Felim O’Sullivan, Oisin O’Regan, Simon Corridan, Evan Casey, Dara Donnelly, Shane Lawless, Luke Bowler.

B Final: Crotta O’Neills 0-6 Lixnaw 0-3
Lixnaw took control of midfield early on, with Jake Brosnan and especially Michael Kelliher outstanding, and soon led by 0-2 to 0-1. Moreover, Kelliher almost plundered a stunning goal after a great run, but Donnacha Sayers made an even better save to keep Crotta in it. Crotta’s defence, especially Aodhan Behan and a superb Tadhg McKenna managed to thwart a series of dangerous attacks before the impressive Denis Nolan poited a free at the other end to make it 0-2 apiece at the break. The second half followed the same pattern; Lixnaw dominated early on but could only pick off a single score. With McKenna and Tomas Dillon giving Crotta more of a say in the middle third, Crotta opened up chances and had a superb executioner in Denis Nolan, who reeled off four points (3f) on the trot to secure the victory.
Crotta O’Neills: Donnacha Sayers, Sean Twomey-McElligott, Aodhan Behan, Aaron McElligott, Sean McGrath, Tadhg McKenna, Kian Hickey, Tomas Dillon, Cillian Baker, Niall Heaton, Eoin Relihan, Rory Mahony, Darragh Keane, Denis Nolan, Gavin Parker, Marc Sheehan, Martin McElligott, Bobby O’Connell, Calum Ryan.
Lixnaw: Keltyn Molloy, Kieran Walsh, Robert O’Brien, Jayson Buckley, Shaun Shanahan, Evan McCarthy, Darragh Conway, Michael Kelliher, Jake Brosnan, Philip Shortland, Jack Leen, Josh Brosnan, Eoghan Stack, Aodhan Shanahan, Cian McMahon, Bryan Allen, Aaron Mahony, Christopher O’Sullivan, Billy Stack, Sean O’Donnell-Power, Jack Goggin, Darren O’Brien.