fb twitter yt

Kerry Minors open defence of Munster and All Ireland titles 2016-04-13 22:06:00

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Round 1
Kerry 2-21 Waterford 1-2

Kerry cruised to victory in the first defence of their Electric Ireland Munster and All Ireland titles at Dungarvan’s Fraher field this evening when putting Waterford to the sword every bit as comprehensively as the final scoreline would suggest. From the moment young David Clifford pointed his side in front within 13 seconds of the start there was never the slightest hint of an upset and while debutant manager Peter Keane and his backroom team will be pleased to get an outing under their belt, it is debatable if they will have learned very much from this encounter against a game but limited Waterford side but Keane will no doubt be pleased with the scoring return of 2-17 from play.

David Clifford had his side three points to the good in as many minutes as Kerry came forward in droves and it was almost a case of a point a minute as Kerry built up an 11 points to no score lead inside the opening 13 minutes of play. Sean O’Shea, the only starting survivor from last year’s All Ireland final, added to the tally before Shane O’Meara opened Waterford’s account in the 21st minute. David Clifford then unselfishly played in Ferdia O’Brien for Kerry’s opening goal a minute later and Dara Moynihan with his third of the half, and sub Michael Potts added to the winner’s tally and at the break the score stood at 1-13 to 0-1 for Kerry.

Bryan Sweeney, recovered from a recent injury, joined the fray at half time and the half was less than a minute old when Ferdia O’Brien scored his, and Kerry’s second goal. Brian Friel added two more points before Cathal Curran crashed a fine strike to the back of the Kerry net at the three quarter stage. Ciaran Walsh added a point but Kerry powered home with four unanswered points to set up a semi final meeting with Clare (0-9 to 1-5 winners over Limerick) on May 11th.

Cork defeated Tipperary 1-14 to 1-11 in the other Quarter final tie this evening.

Kerry: Ferdia O’Brien (2-1); David Clifford (0-5, 0-2 frees); Sean O’Shea (0-4, 0-2 frees); Dara Moynihan (0-3); Brian Friel, Diarmuid O’Connor (0-2 each); Mike Breen, Michael Potts, Tomás O’Connor and Darren Casey (0-1 each).
Waterford: Cathal Curran (1-0); Shane O’Meara (0-1 free), and Ciaran Walsh (0-1).

Kerry: Sean Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht); Graham O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromoda), Niall Collins (Listowel Ennetts), Michéal Reidy (Ballymacelligott); David Naughton (Dr Crokes), Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk), Micheal Foley (Ballydonoghue); Mike Breen (Beaufort), Mark Ryan (Rathmore); Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil), Sean O’Shea (Kenmare), Dara Moynihan (Spa); B Friel (Rathmore), David Clifford (Fossa,), Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks),
Subs: Michael Potts (Dr Crokes) for Naughton (27 mins, inj), Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmetts) for Ryan (HT), David Shaw (Dr Crokes) for O’Connor (37), Tomás O’Connor (Ballymacelligott) for Moynihan (47), Darren Casey (St Mary’s) for O’Brien (52), Caolim Teehan (Glenbeigh Glencar) for Foley (55)

Kerry Minors open defence of their Munster and All Ireland titles

Kerry Minor footballers open the defence of their Munster and All Ireland titles when they travel to Dungarvan on this Wednesday evening for their first outing in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football championship ( 7pm).

There are seven survivors from last year’s All Ireland match day panel including Billy Courtney, Bryan Sweeney, Cormac Linnane, Mike Breen, Graham O’Sullivan, Sean O’Shea, and Daniel O’Brien while the likes of Darren Casey, David Shaw, Niall Collins, Michael Reidy and Ferdia O’Brien were among those on the extended training panel last year which should stand to them in the coming campaign.

Kerry have named a strong side with four of the match day squad for last year’s All Ireland starting while Hogan Cup champions, St Brendans College Killarney, have four players on the team. Wednesday’s team will be captained by Sean Ó Lúing of An Ghaeltacht as county champions Dingle do not have a player on the starting fifteen.

The winner of Wednesday’s game will play Clare or Limerick in the semi final on May 11th while the loser will go forward to the Round Robin series of matches.

The team is managed by Peter Keane of St Marys and selectors are Tommy Griffin of Dingle and James Foley of Kilcummin while Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy are the physical trainers.

Kerry Minor Football Manager – Peter Keane
Peter Keane was appointed Kerry Minor Team manager in succession to Jack O'Connor for a 2 year term. The St Marys man has vast experience at underage level from his involvement with various Kerry Development Squads and was a Kerry Minor Selector in 2012 and 2013 with Mickey Ned O'Sullivan. He was manager of Killarney Legion last year when they took South Kerry to Extra Time in a replayed final and managed his native club to an All Ireland Junior Club title in 2010/11. As a player, he won an All Ireland Vocational Schools medal with Coláiste Iosagáin, won 4 County Under 21 Championship medals with South Kerry and at inter-county level, played Minor, Under 21 and Junior with Kerry. His selectors are Tommy Griffin (Dingle) and James Foley (Kilcummin) while Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy look after the physical preparation of the team..

Kerry V Waterford Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Football Championship 

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Waterford in the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship in Dungarvan on Wednesday next contains just one of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Sean O’Shea of Kenmare. Three subs who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen while Billy Courtney and Bryan Sweeney who played in last year’s final are included among the subs.
Four of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Daniel O’Brien, David Naughton, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

The team, captained by Seán Ó Lúing of An Ghaeltacht is as follows:
1. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
2. Graham O'Sullivan Dromid Pearses
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
5. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheal Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O'Connor Na Gaeil
13. Brian Friel Rathmore
14. David Clifford Fossa
15. Ferdia O'Brien Austin Stacks
Fir Ionaid
16. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
17. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
18. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Tomás O'Connor Ballymacelligott
21. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
22. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
23. Darren Casey St. Mary's
24. Fionán Mackessy Ardfert


Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer:
Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil
Mikey O’Boyle Dingle
Johnny O'Sullivan Beale
Niall O'Donoghue Firies

Rehabbing from Injury
Cormac Linnane Beale
Karl Mullins Kerins O'Rahillys
Daragh Sugrue Tuosist
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Ciaran O'Connor Gneeveguilla