fb twitter yt

PRO GAA Scene November 13th 2019   13/11/2019

East Kerry are Champions after a 20 year wait!

Congratulations to all involved with East Kerry on becoming the Garvey’s Senior Football Champions for 2019! While it wasn’t the tight game that we were expecting, it was a still a tremendous game to watch with moments of individual footballing brilliance on both sides. Dr. Crokes are a superb side and were bidding for their 8th title this decade, which is some feat but on Sunday they were beaten by a well drilled youthful side. Austin Stacks will contest the Munster Club Championships as the County Championship was won by a divisional side.

Last Sunday’s final was very well attended with over 8000 people making their way to Austin Stack Park. ‘Man of the Match’ was Paudie Clifford (Fossa) and he was presented with a trophy and a voucher for the beautiful Dingle Skellig Hotel sponsored by the Garvey Group. The Bishop Moynihan Cup was presented to winning East Kerry Captain Dan O’Donoghue (Spa, Killarney) by County Board Chairman Tim Murphy.

The Curtain Raiser was the U15 Post Primary Munster Final between CBS Tralee and St Brendans Killarney. The Colm Taft Cup was presented by Colm Hayes to the winning Tralee CBS captain. It was a wonderful opportunity to showcase the talent and skill of our post primary students on County Final Day.

The County Executive wish to thank the following people who made the occasion a great success – our fantastic sponsors Garvey’s SuperValu, the Austin Stack Park Committee, Ger O’Mahony the groundsman, the match officials, the highly talented Killorglin & District Pipeband, the Gardaí & Stewards, the medical personnel, Coiste na nÓg for the production of a superb programme, the media and of course all four participating teams.

Munster Club Championship

Congratulations to Kerry Intermediate champions Templenoe who beat Waterford’s St Saviours last Saturday in Templenoe 5-12 to 2-9. Next Sunday at 1.30pm they will play Éire Óg in Ovens Cork in the Munster semi final. Next Saturday the Kerry Junior Champions Na Gaeil are away to the Cork champions Kilshannig at 1.30pm in Mallow in their Munster Quarter Final. On Sunday Austin Stacks will play Nemo Rangers in Páirc Uí Rinn in the Munster Senior Semi Final. Best of luck to all the teams representing Kerry!


County Executive

Nominations closed last Friday at 5pm and as result of being the only nominated candidates - St Senans’s Eamon Whelan is the incoming Vice Chairman and Dr Crokes Patrick O’Sullivan is  the incoming Central Council Delegate. Congratulations to both candidates – both are well experienced officers and will bring a wealth of knowledge to their new roles. Three superb officers will be vacating their positions at convention – Diarmuid Ó Sé Piarsaigh na Dromoda,  John Joe Carroll Asdee and Fionnan Fitzgerald Ballymac. We wish to thank them most sincerely for the time and commitment they have given to Kerry GAA.


GAA MacNamee Awards

The GAA MacNamee Awards are held annually to honour excellence in the area of communications, public relations and journalism, specifically related to the activities of the Association. These Awards are named after the late Pádraig MacNamee, former President of the GAA, Chairman of the GAA Commission (1969-1971) and member of RTÉ authority. Applications for the 2019 MacNamee Awards are now being accepted. It should be noted that only work published or completed in the 2019 calendar year is eligible for consideration and entries will not be returned. The awards scheme will be judged under the following headings:

· Best GAA Publication (To cover general works focusing on the Association).

· Best GAA Club Publication (To cover GAA County Yearbooks and Club History).

· Best GAA Website (Acknowledgement for the best Club or County website, taking into consideration design, content and usefulness to members).

· Best New Media - Award for a Club, County or Province’s use of digital channels or own created content (video, podcasts, newsletter, other) to present a story or activity online.

· Best Photograph (Focusing on the best GAA-themed image).

· Best Programme (To cater for all match day programmes produced for any level of the GAA).

· Best GAA related Radio Programme (To cater for all GAA programming broadcast either nationally or locally)

· Irish Language Award / Gradam na Gaeilge (To recognise excellence in the field of Irish language GAA journalism across all media/Aitheantas ar ardchaighdeán iriseoireachta Gaeilge bainteach le cúrsaí CLG, ina chuimsítear gach cineál meán cumarsáide).

* Please note: There is a limit of three photographs per entrant for the photographic award and one entry for all other categories.

All entries should be marked “GAA MacNamee Awards 2019” and addressed for the attention of Alan Milton, Director of Communications, Croke Park, Dublin 3 or emailed to siobhan.brady@gaa.ie . Entrants should also clearly state what category they are submitting their entry under. Award winners will be contacted in due course with further details in relation to the awards banquet. Closing date for entries is Friday, 03/01/20. For further information please contact Alan Milton, Director of Communications, Croke Park on 01 8658612

Trath na gCeist

The National Cultural Committee of the GAA as part of Cultural Activities for clubs are organising a table Quiz / TRATH na gCEIST as Gaeilge, with finals being staged in Croke Park on Saturday 14th December. Club teams of 4 members, table quiz style, topics similar to the Scór Quiz with all Questions and Answers as GAEILGE. 3 teams (clubs) qualify from Munster for finals. Clubs may still enter up to Thursday November 14th by contacting Cultural Officer Christy Killeen at culturalofficer.kerry@gaa.ie


Congratulations to Kilgarvan on winning the 2019 Credit Union Co. Senior Hurling League Division 2 title. In last Saturday’s Final played at Lewis Road they had a 1 point win over Causeway, 2 - 12 to 1 - 14. After the game the John O’Connor Memorial Cup was presented to the winning captain, Keith Harrington, by the Kerry Co. Board Munster Council delegate, Ger McCarthy. The Killarney Credit Union Man of the Match award went to the Kilgarvan wing forward Daniel Casey. The winning lineout and scorers were: Flor O'Brien, Seán Casey, Patrick O'Shea, Liam Twomey, Gearóid Fennessy (0-1), John Mark Foley, Con Godfrey (1-0), Jack Foley, Richard O'Sullivan, Dónal O'Sullivan (0-2), Keith Harrington, Daniel Casey (1-5), Seán Godfrey (0-4f), Conor Shorthall. Subs: Connie Cremin, Martin Godfrey, Dion Murphy, Flor O'Sullivan, Darragh O'Brien, Sean Sutton. The team mentors were Mike Foley, John Foley, Flor O'Brien, Pat Twomey and Adrian O'Sullivan. This was the first time since 2006 that Kilgarvan has won the Co. Intermediate and Co. League Division 2 double.


Kilgarvan take the field again on this Saturday, 16 November, in the Munster Junior Hurling Championship quarter-final. Their opponents will be the Cork champions Russell Rovers. Venue is the Dr. Crokes G.A.A. grounds in Killarney where there will be a 1.30p.m. throw in.

Co. League

The Final of the Co. Senior Hurling League Division 1 [Nicholas Scollard Cup] between St. Brendan’s and Causeway has been fixed for this Sunday, 17 November. Check with the clubs locally for exact details of this fixture.


The North Kerry Hurling Board Annual Awards function will take place at Ballyroe Heights Hotel on Friday, 29 November. The Tralee Parnell’s Hurling Club annual general meeting is down for decision on this Friday, 15 November at the Kerins-O’Rahilly’s Clubhouse, 8.00p.m.