Ladies Annual Report 2012

Crossmolina Ladies GAA report for 2012

"Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh siad." (Young people learn more from compliments than criticism).
Highlights for 2012 included Samantha McDonnell & Stacy Mangan were on the Mayo U14's, Stacy also had the honor of captaining the team to an All-Ireland final Vs Cork, Danielle Kelly & Avril Noone represented the club on the County U16 team, Our U16's won the inaugural Rachel Herbert Memorial Tournament hosted by the Knockmore club and Caroline Kearns qualifying as a ladies referee
The U10's We did not have enough girls this year to enter an U10 team, they trained and played with the U12's.

The U12s had a great season and won the Division 2 final in Foxford. They were managed by Avril Benson

U-12 League Div 2
Crossmolina 0-04 Knockmore 6-12
Kilmormoy A 8-08 Crossmolina 0-03
Crossmolina 2-02 Kiltane 7-08
Crossmolina WIN Vs St. Brigids
Kilmormoy B 1-04 Crossmolina 19-30
Crossmolina 3-03 Moy Davitts 0-02
Castlebar 3-03 Crossmolina 4-03
Davitts 4-14 Crossmolina 2-00
Crossmolina 3-04 Kiltane 3-11
Kilmovee 8-05 Crossmolina 2-06

U-12 Squad 2012
Ciara Naughton, Bronagh Mulligan, Caoimhe Walsh, Eilish Keane, Sonia Carolan, Niamh Maughen, Ethel Leonard, Therese Clarke, Caoimhe Loftus, Lisa Lavelle, Carragh Granahan, Aoife Dean, Lauren Mullen, Leonie McAndrew, Niamh McAndrew, Maedbh Walsh, Grace Murray, Laura Mulhern, Lisa Murphy, Alanna Herr, Chloe Leonard, Irene Hegarty, Carragh Murray, Emma Mulligan, Linda Kelly, Rosin Cronin, Kelly Rowland, Ciara Cooney, Mickala McAndrew, Grace Gibbons, Johanna O'Malley, Katyln McAndrew.

The U13s had a very tough campaign in the league and really struggled to get any momentum. They were managed by Kieran Mulhern

U-13 League Div 2
Crossmolina 1-01 Kilmovee 2-06
Carnacon V Crossmolina Loss
Crossmolina V Hollymount Loss
Swinford /Killasser V Crossmolina Loss
Louisburgh V Crossmolina Loss
Crossmolina 3-04 Claremorris 8-11
Crossmolina 1-04 St. Marys 8-12


U-13 Squad 2012 ( includes U12's )
Jacinta Kelly, Tara Naughton, Caroline Harnan, Aoife Herbert, Ciara Sharkey, Niamh Lynn, Clodagh Fox, Emily Gordon, Rosemary Martin

U-14 Squad 2012 ( includes U13's )
Samantha McDonnell, Niamh Larkin, Madeline Keane, Stacey Mangan, Aoife Hegarty, Chloe Kearns, Erris McAndrew, Dayna Hopkins, Gemma Donnelly, Tara Donnelly, Lyn Timmons, Niamh O'Malley, Caoimhe Cosgrove

U-14 League Div 1
Moy Davitts 3-07 Crossmolina 5-06
Burrishoole 0-05 Crossmolina 2-00
Crossmolina 2-04 Westport A 3-13
Crossmolina V Davitts
Kiltimagh V Crossmolina
Crossmolina V Swinford/Killasser
Charlestown V Crossmolina

U-14 Championship Div 1
Moy Davitts 3-07 Crossmolina 5-05
Burrishoole 4-08 Crossmolina 3-04. Semi-Final

U14 Ladies Defeated County A Semi-Final Vs Burrishoole - Report PJ Hughes
Crossmolina were always struggling against a much better and balanced Burrishoole side that lead at half time by 2-03 to 0-03, the points for the Deel-Siders were scored by Samantha McDonnell two and Stacy Mangan one. Crossmolina did reduce the lead to five points midway through the half with two goals from Samantha McDonnell and points from Gemma Donnelly and Caroline Haran who had moved from Goal to full forward for the second half. It was just the spur the Burrishoole girls needed to hit back with two goals to run out comfortable winner by 4-08 to 2-05 Crossmolina team Caroline Haran 0 - 1 Aoife Hegarty Niamh Larkin Lynn Timmons Gemma Donnelly 0 - 1 Madeline Keane (Capt) Dayna Hopkins Erris McAndrew Tara Naughton Aoife Herbert Samantha McDonnell 2 - 2 Tara Donnelly Jacinta Kelly Stacy Mangan 0 - 1 Niamh Lynn

Managers Gerard ‘Power' Granahan, Sonia Mulligan

The U-16

U-16 League Div 1
Crossmolina 0-06 Moy Davitts 4-09
Crossmolina 3-06 Louisburgh 0-02
Westport 2-10 Crossmolina 2-01
Crossmolina WIN Vs Hollymount
Crossmolina WIN Vs Carnacon

C&C Cellular u16 Division 1 Final
Crossmolina 3-14 Westport 4-03

Rachel Herbert Memorial Tournament
Crossmolina WIN Vs Knockmore Semi-Final
Crossmolina WIN Vs Kilmormoy Final

U-16 Championship Div A
Hollymount 4-07 Crossmolina 4-18
Kilmormoy 0-07 Crossmolina 4-17
Crossmolina 6-16 Westport 1-5

U16 Crossmolina Ladies win League Title - Report PJ Hughes
Crossmolina U16 Ladies won the C&C Cellular sponsored Mayo county title with a 3-15 to 4-03 win over Westport in Kiltmagh on Wednesday last. Goals from Clara Jordan Stacy Mangan and Samantha McDonnell laid the foundation, points were added to the tally by Rebecca Maughan Clara Jordan Samantha McDonnell and Rachel Kearns. Westport's only reply, a point came from Kirsten Walsh to leave the half time score 3-06 to 0-01 further points from Rachel Kearns Rebecca Maughan Samantha McDonnell seemed to put the contest out of the Westport Girls reach but they were not in the final just to make up the numbers and were not going to give up without a fight. Crossmolina goalkeeper Joanne Naughton denied Lauren Burke a certain goal with a brilliant full length diving save at the expense of a 45 in the 44th minute but Lauren was not to be denied minutes later when she drove home the first of her sides four goals. Nicole Gannon Kirsten Walsh and Sub Laoise Kelly added further goals before Crossmolina Captain Avril Noone steadied her side with a couple of points and Sinead Mulhern got her name on the score sheet to leave Crossmolina the delighted winners when referee John Burke sounded the final whistle. Tom Lavelle Mayo Ladys board presented the The C&C Cellular sponsored trophy to a jubilant Avril Noone
Crossmolina team Joanne Naughton Michelle Kearns Laura Fergus Madeline Keane Audrey Keane Danielle Kelly Ruth Queenan Cailin Barrett Avril Noone (Capt) 0 - 3 Sinead Mulhern 0 - 1 Rachel Kearns 0 - 2 Stacy Mangan 1 - 0 Samantha McDonnell 1 - 2 Rebbeca Maughan 0 - 5 Clara Jordan 1 - 2 Subs Clodagh Syron for Audrey Keane, Audrey Keane for Madeline Keane Westport Becky Gavin Emma Higgins Erin Rowley Sarah Browne Ellie Conway Janette O'Malley (Capt) Seafra O'Grady Kirsten Walsh 1 - 2 Siobhan Golden Fiona Groden Vicky Coughlan Sarah Doherty Rebecca O'Malley Lauren Burke 1 - 0 Nicole Gannon subs Laoise Kelly 1 - 0

Manager Darren Leonard, Sinead Kearns, Lorraine Irwin
U-16 Squad 2012 ( includes some U14's )
Joanne Naughton, Amy Traynor, Clodagh Syron, Rachel Kearns, Ruth Queenan, Abigale Sweeney, Danielle Kelly, Audrey Keane, Michelle Kearns, Rebecca Maughan, Sarah O'Malley, Avril Noone, Clara Jordan, Sinead Mulhern, Clodagh McDonnell, Clara Loftus, Coleen Barrett, Laura Fergus, Sharon Granahan,

Minor B League
Moy Davitts 4-12 Crossmolina 7-02
Crossmolina 3-08 Swinford/Killasser 4-07.
Crossmolina Vs Westport

Minor B Championship Final
Swinford-Killasser 6-10 Crossmolina 1-4

Manager Darren Leonard, Sinead Kearns, Lorraine Irwin
Minor Squad 2012 ( includes U16's )
Carole Fair, Maria O'Donnell, Kate Dolan, Marie Larkin, Danielle Hopkins,

Crossmolina GAA Committee
Bernie Granahan (Secretary), John Hegarty (Chairman), Finance;- Ann Kearns, Eileen McDonnell, Liz Ann Donnelly, Ann Mulhern, Sean Keane
Mentors;- Avril Benson, Sonia Mulligan, Kieran Mulhern, Gerard Granahan, Darren Leonard, Sinead Kearns, Lorraine Irwin.

All involved with the Ladies football in Crossmolina wish to thank the Crossmolina Chronicle for their continued support. To all the girls who turned out for training and took part in the matches throughout the year, a special thank you.

Report by John Hegarty




Draw on Saturday 1st of May, numbers drawn 4, 9, 12, 19.No jackpot winner, two match three, Caroline Judge and Sean & Catriona Syron, and each win €75.Next week’s jackpot is €11,550, many thanks for all your support.

Smart Lotto


Useful Links