Charleville Captain first winner for 2019 2019-03-02 11:56:00

The honour of been the first recipient of the 96FM/C103 GAA Sports Star award in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel winner for 2019, the 16th year of these very prestigious awards went to Daniel O’ Flynn Captain of the Charleville Intermediate hurlers Cork and Munster Champions. 

Daniel who displayed outstanding leadership throughout a wonderful campaign was delighted to be honoured, even if they did not capture the ultimate award. 

“It softens the blow somewhat for losing the All-Ireland Final and I am delighted to be honoured, I have seen some great players receiving this award over the years and I am thrilled to be here today, and my thanks to the Rochestown Park Hotel and 96FM/C103 for this wonderful accolade.” 

“It’s fair to say that it is an acknowledgement of what Charleville as a club has achieved in the last 12 months and we are looking forward to senior hurling in 2019.” 

County Board Officer Des Cullinane, also congratulated Daniel, “It is only fitting when you consider what Charleville have achieve that you as Captain be recognised for your part in a dramatic and brilliant campaign, it should not be forgotten and we also acknowledge the wonderful support for these awards from 96FM/C103 and the Rochestown Park Hotel both outstanding supporters of Cork GAA, which we really appreciate.” 

In a nice little touch Daniel’s fiancée is Emer Watson who herself was a monthly award recipient for her part in Milford’s All-Ireland Camogie success in recent years. 

Tom Tobin RPH and Isabel Keane 96FM also congratulated Daniel and wished him and Charleville continued success in the coming season. 

Charleville Officers along with family members were in attendance as was Richard Murphy Irish Officer Cork County Board, Pearse Murphy Treasurer Munster Council and the 2018 January winner, along with Louise Cashell Cork Independent. 

The 2020 gala banquet will be held on the 31st January and we are delighted that the guest of honour on the night will be GAA President John Horan.

Further photos courtesy of Tony O' Connell can be found here

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by