Tom Creedon Cup Final 2018-05-05 08:00:00

Tom Creedon Cup Final 2018 
Beal Athan Ghaorthaidh v Newmarket
Saturday, May 5th
Macroom,@ 4pm
*Extra time in the event of a draw, plus a further 5 minutes each way if necessary

Paths to the Final
Beal Athan Ghaorthaidh 2-15 Ballydesmond 3-5  (Round 1)
Beal Athan Ghaorthaidh 1-16 Naomh Aban 0-13 (Quarter-Final)
Beal Athan Ghaorthaidh 6-9 St Michaels 3-9 (Semi-Final)  

Newmarket 2-16 Nemo Rangers 2-7 (Quarter-Final)
Newmarket 1-14 Cill na Martra 1-11 (Semi-Final)

In Memory of Tom Creedon
The Tom Creedon Cup was presented by Macroom GAA Club, Muskerry Division, and Cork County Board in memory of Macroom and Cork footballer, Tom Creedon, who died tragically in 1983.
Tom Creedon was born in 1954, and played football from underage to Senior level for Macroom. He was a member of the Macroom team that won the under 14 County Schools Shield in 1967. He won mid-Cork medals at U16 in 1970, 5 minor medals from 1968 to 72, and 2 U21 medals in 1972 and 1974. At adult level he won Muskerry Cup medals in 1981 and 82, an Intermediate Football League medal in 1981, and captained the Macroom team to win the County Intermediate Football Championship in 1982, to return to Senior ranks in 1983. He played his last Championship game with Macroom against St. Nicks in May 1983, with Macroom winning by 1-9 to 0-7.
His inter-county career began in 1972 when he was a member of the Cork Minor Football team that won the Munster and All-Ireland titles. He also won a Munster U21 Football medal in 1974 when Cork beat Kerry in the Munster Final. He played on the Cork Senior Football team from 1975 to 1983, winning a National Football League medal in 1980 and played in 9 Munster Football Finals (including 2 replays in 1976 and 1982). He was a member of the Munster team that won the Railway Cup in 1981. Tom also played with UCC and was a member of the combined Universities team in 1976. He played with Muskerry from 1978 to 1982. Tom was a natural leader and captained Macroom at all levels. His death in August 1983 robbed Macroom of one of its greatest ever players.
Roll of Honour
2017 Newmarket
2016 Beal Athan Ghaorthaidh
2015 Cill Martra
2014 Carrigaline
2013 St Michaels
2012 Mayfield
2011 Nemo Rangers
2010 Castletownbere
2009 Not Played
2008 Unfinished
2007 Glenville
2006 Newcestown
2005 Killavullen
2004 Ballinora
2003 Killavullen
2002 Ilen Rovers
2001 Nemo Rangers
2000 Kilmurry
1999 Castletownbere
1998 Naomh Aban
1997 Macroom
1996 Naomh Aban
1995 Valley Rovers
1994 Clonakilty
1993 Mallow
1992 Castletownbere
1991 Mallow
1990 O'Donovan Rossa
1989 Macroom
1988 Mallow
1987 Macroom
1986 Clonakilty
1985 O'Donovan Rossa

Back to top