Underage Season Summary 2016 - 2016-12-28 15:59:00

Underage Season Summary 2016:

2016 saw Adrigole field teams at seven age levels, namely under 8, under 10, under 12, under 13, under 14, under 16 and under 18 (minor).  In order for the club to compete at so many levels some players had to play at two and three levels.

Under 8

Adrigole Under 8s played in a number of blitzes throughout the season.  Adrigole club ran two very successful under 8 blitzes inviting all Beara teams along with Bantry Blues, St Colums and some Kerry teams.  Our under 8s took part in blitzes hosted by Garnish, Glengarriff, Castletownbere and to round off the season a blitz in Kenmare.  It was a very enjoyable season for the under 8s and it is great to see their skills develop.

Under 10

Adrigole Under 10s had a very successful season.  They played in a number of challenge matches, the Eamonn Jer Beara A Championship and an under 10 western league.  Adrigole have for the fourth year in a row won the Eamonn Jer Cup which is a great achievement. In the Under 10 Western League they played Kilmacabea, Glengarriff and Muintir Mhaire.

Under 12

Adrigole Under 12s had a very good year and won the John L O'Sullivan Memorial Cup in the Beara Under 12 A Championship.  This is the second year in a row that Adrigole have won this cup.  Adrigole Under 12s also took part in the Western E League and topped the table in this league winning six of their seven matches.  In the under 12 Cup competition they were entered in the B level where they won their first match but lost in the semi-final to a stronger St. Colum's side.

Under 13

Adrigole U13s took part in the Western C League and won three of their five matches placing them second overall on the table.  In this league final they played Naomh Aban but unfortunately Naomh Aban were the strongest team on the day.

Under 14

Adrigole's Under 14 Team was a young Under 14 team including some under 11 players as there was only one player on the age at under 14.  They played some Beara games and they also took part in the Western U14 D League.  Despite being a young team they finished respectably in the middle of the league table.  In the U14 D Championship they reached the semi-final where they were beaten by Beal Atha n Ghaorthaidh.

Under 16

Adrigole Under 16 Team had a hugely successful season going all the way in the Championship to win the County Under 16 C Championship for the second year in a row. This was a huge achievement considering five of the players were still playing under 13 and with only one substitute the team was dependent on these young players to field a team.  As well as winning the championship this team also topped the U16 C Football League (West) and went on to win the final of the Under 16 C League (West) versus Under 16 C League (East).  As a result of this, together with their county medals they have brought home a number of cups.  Neil O'Sullivan(Beara Captain), Ryan O'Sullivan, Mikey Crowley and Seanie O'Sullivan of the Adrigole U16 team also played with the successful Beara U16 team which won the County Premier 1 Championship.  What an achievement for these boys to have won two county medals at U16 in the one year.  Well done!

Under 18 (Minor)

This year Adrigole entered a Minor team in the Western League and Championship for the first time in a number of years.  This was a young team with all players still at minor level for the 2017 season.  They took part in the Western Minor C League winning four out of their six games and finishing in the top half of the league table.  Unfortunately they were knocked out of the football championship in the early stages in a closely fought match against Naomh Aban.

County Development Squads 2016

A number of Adrigole players took part in the county development squads training in 2016.  Jason Harrington at U17 level, Neil O'Sullivan and Ryan O'Sullivan at U16 level, Seanie O'Sullivan at U15 level and more recently Darragh O'Sullivan and Sean O'Shea have started training with the Carbery/Beara development group at Under 13.

Looking ahead to 2017

The underage AGM took place recently and the underage committee for 2017 is:

Chairperson: Peter O'Sullivan

Vice Chairperson: 

Secretary: Orla Sullivan

PRO: Breda Norris

Adrigole will field the following underage teams in 2017: Under 8, Under 10, Under 12, Under 14 and Under 18.