Match Report: Toddie Byrne U14 Shield Final   19/06/2012

Toddie Byrne U14 Shield County Hurling final 17/06/2012,
Venue Kenny Park, Athenry.
Ref: Gordon Duane.

Thanks to Oranmore Maree GAA Juvenile for this report. 

Oranmore Maree 5-3, St Mary’s Athenry 2-4

Oranmore Maree won the Toddie Byrne Shield on Sunday evening at an immaculate Kenny Park, Athenry. These sides had drawn in the championship only a few weeks previous so this was always going to be a tight affair.

Athenry started brightly with a slight breeze and the Oranmore Maree defence did well to only concede 2 points in the first 7 minutes. David Price, Ruairi Corry and Eoin Gill cleared numerous balls while goalkeeper Luke Smyth tidied up anything that got past his full back line. Ross Malone now began to dominate at centre forward and he set up Diarmuid Byrne for a goal after 8 minutes. A few minutes later Diarmuid bagged a second goal after good work from Declan Gill and Adam Hanniffy. Athenry then struck for a fine goal after great work from Ronan Hardiman. This left the half time score at Oranmore Maree 2-1 to Athenry’s 1-3.

Kevin Burke moved to full forward at the start of the second half and within 5 minutes had struck for 2 great goals. Athenry now upped their game but Rian Maher played some tremendous hurling at centre-back to keep them at bay. Robbie Commins and Conor Hanniffy also cleared a lot of ball while Remon Abur and Fergal O’Ceallaigh worked tirelessly in the half forward line. Athenry got a second goal but Diarmuid Byrne then got his third goal and Stephen Commins scored two vital frees to leave the final score at 5-3 to 2-4.

James Reynolds, Ciaran Blaney and Mike Kennelly came on as subs to steady the ship while other panel members who contributed significantly during the year were Alan Costello, Tiernan O’Dowd, Sean O’Rourke, Adam Cox and Conor McDermott..

Fergal O’Ceallaigh accepted the plate on behalf of a jubilant Oranmore Maree panel and immediately called for 3 cheers for a sporting Athenry team.

Oranmore-Maree Panel:
Luke Smyth, Rory Corry, David Price,Eoin Gill, Robbie Commins, Rian Maher, Conor Hanniffy, Fergal O'Cealligh,Kevin Burke, Remon Abdur, Ross Malone, Adam Hanniffy, Stephen Commins, Diarmuid Byrne, Declan Gill, James Reynolds, Ciaran Blaney, Michael Kennelly, Alan Costello, Tiernan O'Dowd, Conor McDermott Sean O'Rourke, Morgan O'Brien

Management: Pat Malone, Vinny Byrne, Frank Hanniffy.

Main Sponsors

Supporters Club

Prediction League