2007 U16 County Final

Lisgoold claim an historic success By John Tarrant

U16 C Hurling Championship final
Lisgoold 0-18 St. Mark's 1-11
THE famine is over for Lisgoold, who savoured county juvenile honours for the first time when beating St Mark's in the Co.UI6 C Hurling Championship final in Glantane on Saturday.

A physically-stronger Lisgoold deserved their historic triumph but not before they were made to sweat it out in a bold bid by the Meelin and Freemount combination to save the outcome.

However, a quartet of quick fire points during the closing stages put the icing on the cake to complete a historic day for the East Cork boys. Lisgoold tore into the fray from the outset as man of the match Robert Smart hit four neat points.

St Mark's got to grips with the situation and proceeded to enjoy a lengthy spell of dominance. Their potential was illustrated by the outstanding play of custodian Jason O'Callaghan, T J Brosnan, Brendan O'Sullivan, Eamon Brosnan and Aidan O' Flynn.

Indeed, St Mark's called the shots and six consecutive points from Brosnan, O'Sullivan, Daniel Jones and O' Flynn altered the scoreboard in favour of the Duhallow side. Lisgoold fought back and a pair of points from Jamie Woods narrowed the deficit 0-9 to 0-6 at the break.

Lisgoold enjoyed a promising start to the second half and points to John McCarthy and Smart tied up matters. The momentum remained with Lisgoold through key contributions delivered by Killian Kingston, John Cronin, Conor Walsh and John McCarthy. And chief talisman Smart continued to pile on the scores from play and placed balls.

St Mark's hit back with a vengeance and a goal from substitute Declan O' Riordan squared matters with eight minutes remaining. Lisgoold turned the screw, Smart and the accurate Woods hit two points apiece to put the game out of reach. The full time whistle sparked scenes of celebration amongst all associated with the proud club.

Scorers for Lisgoold: R Smart 0-12, J Woods 0-4, J McCarthy and J Cronin 0-1 each.

St. Mark’s: E Brosnan 0-6, A O' Flynn 0-3, D O' Riordan 1-0, D Jones and B O' Sullivan 0-1 each.

Lisgoold: J Cashman, K Kingston, J N Donovan, A Walsh, J Cronin, R Stack, C Walsh, S Hurton, J McCarthy, R Smart, J Woods, O Curtin, K Flynn.
Subs: C Cashman, C Scannell, M Savage, A Donovan, N Kingston, C O’ Mahony.
Selectors: Dermot McCarthy, Brian Woods, Mike Walsh

St. Mark’s: J O’ Callaghan, T J Brosnan, F Feehan, C O’ Riordan, B O’ Sullivan, S O’ Mullane, E Brosnan, Daniel O’ Callaghan, M O’ Neill, D Jones, Donal O’ Callaghan, M Geaney, A O’ Flynn.
Sub: D O’ Riordan.
Selectors: Ned Brosnan, John O’ Flynn.

Referee: M Sheedy (Castletownroche)