fb twitter yt

Kerry are All Ireland Minor B Champions 2015-09-05 20:44:00

Kerry Minor B Hurlers are All Ireland Champions

Kerry 6-17 Roscommon 1-7
Congratulations to the Kerry minor hurlers on their very easy 6 – 17 to 1 – 7 win over Roscommon in the All-Ireland Minor ‘B’ Final on Saturday last at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick. This was just reward for a panel that put in a lot of work over the last few months under the direction, for the second year in a row, of Ian Brick (Kilmoyley) and his selectors Stephen Goggin (Causeway) and Aidan Mahony (St. Brendan’s).

On Saturday they played with great determination and discipline to overcome Roscommon and thus win Kerry’s fourth title in a row at this level.

Kerry became the first holders of the Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup and completed a four in a row of All Ireland Minor B Titles when proving far too strong for their Roscommon opponents at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick today.
Kerry got off to a flying start with a goal from Fionan Mackessy after just four minutes and another goal from Eric Leen saw Kerry lead by 2-12 to 0-5 at the break.

It was all one way traffic in the second half, and Kerry had further goals from Shane Conway and sub Ronan O’Donovan to lead by 4-15 to 0-7 at the three quarter stage. They finished in style with two goals from Shane Conway for a fully deserved victory.
After the game the Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup was presented to winning captain John Buckley by Jerry O’Sullivan (Vice Chairman of the Munster Council).

The victorious Kerry team and subs were:
David Silles (Lixnaw), Billy Lyons (Causeway), Michael Leane (Ballyheigue), Ger Stackpoole (Lixnaw), Eoin Ross (Ballyduff), Jason Diggins (Causeway), Robert Collins (Kilmoyley), John Buckley (Lixnaw), Tomás O’Connor (Crotta O'Neill’s), Shane Conway (Lixnaw), Jeremy McKenna(Lixnaw), David Egan (Abbeydorney), Eric Leen (St. Brendan’s), Fionán Mackessy (St. Brendan’s), Colin Sheehy (Lixnaw). Subs.: Robert Silles (Lixnaw), Colin Browne (Crotta O'Neill’s), Liam Mullins (Lixnaw), Ronan Donovan (Abbeydorney), Aaron Thompson (St. Brendan’s), Brian O'Riordan (Ballyheigue), Jack Lenihan (Dr. Crokes), Ciarán Breen (Tralee Parnell’s), Tom Foley (Lixnaw), Kieran Regan (Kilmoyley) and Jason Keane (Lixnaw).

For the record, the Kerry captains in the previous 3 victories were: 2012 - Kevin Hannafin (St. Brendan’s); 2013 – Jason Wallace (Lixnaw); 2014 - Fionán Mackessy (St. Brendan’s).

Click Here for some photos from the Final

Kerry Minor Hurling Team V Roscommon - All Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship Final
The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Roscommon in the Final of the All Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship in Limerick on Saturday at 2pm

David Silles cried off the semi final team and was replaced by his brother Robert - David now comes back into the team so there is one change.
The team contains six of the side who started in the defeat of Meath in last year’s final – Billy Lyons, Michael Leane, Jason Diggins, Robert Collins, John Buckley, and Fionán Mackessy.

The team, captained by Lixnaw’s John Buckley is as follows:

1 David Silles Lixnaw

2 Billy Lyons Causeway

3 Micheal Leane Ballyheigue

4 Gerard Stackpoole Lixnaw

5 Eoin Ross Ballyduff

6 Jason Diggins Causeway

7 Robert Collins Kilmoyley

8 John Buckley Lixnaw (Capt)

9 Thomas O’Connor Crotta O’Neills

10 Shane Conway Lixnaw

11 Jeremy McKenna Lixnaw

12 David Egan Abbeydorney

13 Eric Leen St Brendans

14 Fionán Mackessy St Brendans

15 Colin Sheehy Lixnaw

Fir Ionaid:

16 Robert Silles Lixnaw

17 Colin Browne Crotta O’Neills

18 Kieran O’Regan Kilmoyley

19 Liam Mullins Lixnaw

20 Tom Foley Lixnaw

21 Jack Lenihan Dr Crokes

22 Ciarán Breen Tralee Parnells

23 Ronan Donovan Abbeydorney

24 Jason Keane Lixnaw

25 Aaron Tompson St Brendans

26 Brian O’Riordan Ballyheigue


Bainisteoir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)

Roghnoirí: Aidan O'Mahony (St Brendans), Jonathan Silles (Causeway)

Physio: Trudy Ryan

Liason Officer: Ger McCarthy

Kerry Minor Hurlers in All Ireland Minor B Final
The main hurling focus this weekend will be on the final of the All-Ireland minor ‘B’ hurling championship between Kerry and Roscommon which goes ahead at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick on this Saturday, 5th September. The game will have a 2.00p.m. starting time.

Kerry will be going for their 4th title in a row at this level and we wish all the best to the players, team captain John Buckley (Lixnaw) and the management team of Ian Brick (Kilmoyley), Stephen Goggin (Causeway) and Aidan Mahony (St. Brendan’s).

The Kerry minor panel is:
The panel is as follows: David Egan, Ronan Donovan (Abbeydorney), Aaron Thompson, Fionan Mackessy, Eric Leen (St. Brendan’s), Eoin Ross (Ballyduff), Michael Leane, Brian O'Riordan (Ballyheigue), Jason Diggins, Billy Lyons, Jamie McGrath, (Causeway), Tomás O Connor, Colin Browne (Crotta O'Neill’s), Jack Lenihan (Dr. Crokes), Robert Collins, Kieran Regan (Kilmoyley), Shane Conway, John Buckley, Robert Silles, Liam Mullins, David Silles, Jeremy McKenna, Colin Sheehy, Gerard Stackpoole, Jason Keane, Tom Foley (Lixnaw) and Ciarán Breen (Tralee Parnell’s).