fb twitter yt

Senior Hurling League, Div 2 - Final 2017-10-29 23:21:00

Senior Hurling League Division 2 Final

Causeway are Senior Hurling League Division 2 Champions

Causeway 0-19                 

St Brendans 1-7

John Mike Dooley was the main man as Causeway defeated St Brendans to win the Senior Hurling League Division 2 title at Kilmoyley this afternoon.

Causeway captain, Stephen Goggin got the opening score of the game in what was a very spirited affair where frees were to the fore with veteran John Mike Dooley  contributing  9 frees to Causeway's finishing score. The half time score was 10 points to 4 in favour of Causeway.

On the resumption Dooley once again opened the scoring for Causeway with a free and Joe Diggins added a further point.  Brendán O'Connor replied with  a point for St. Brendans but it was Causeway who were mainly to the fore in all sectors. Liam O'Sullivan added a consolation goal in the 58th minute but unfortunately it was not enough for St Brendans and Causeway ran out victors witrh 9 points to spare.


Causeway:  Alan Whyte, Kieran Leahy, Paul O'Grady, Ger Leen, Evan Murphy, Fergal Carroll, Mark Murphy, John Cantillon, Joe Diggins, Conor Diggin, Darren Leahy, Adam Whyte, Cyril Dineen, JohnMike Dooley, Stephen Goggin.

St Brendans: Gearoid Sheehan, Michael Davis, Eamon Corridon, Eoghan Kearney, Kieran Fitzgerald, Denis Moriarty, Killian Woulff, Adrian Nolan, Donal Moriarty, Jack McCarthy, Padraig Kearney, Padraig O'Connor, Padraig O'Mahony, Pa Donegan (1p) Brendán O'Connor (5f).

After the gamecounty  hurling officer Ger McCarthy presented the cup to winning captain Stephen Goggin and the man of the match award sponsored by the Rose Hotel was awarded to a worthy recipient John Mike Dooley of Causeway.