fb twitter yt

Junior Premier - Final 2017-10-28 21:35:00

Castleisland Mart Junior Premier Football Championship Final

Piarsaigh na Dromoda 0-17

Firies 1-11 (AET)

Drmid Pearses were crowned Castleisland Mart Junior Premier football champions at a well attended JP O’Sullivan Park Killorglin this evening but they needed extra time to get the better of a Firies side who looked like they were going to hold on for victory in normal time. Firies had taken a slender 6 points to 5 lead to the interval but they the resumed a transformed side with Shane O’Donoghue pointing in the 32nd minute and a minute later Padraig de Brúin soloed through a static Dromid defence to fir the ball past Brian O’Leary for the only goal of the match. When Donnchadh O’Sullivan soloed up the wing and lofted over another point a minute later, Firies had built what looked like a winning platform being 1-8 to 0-5 clear. Jack Sherwood was playing out of his skin at their stage for the light blues and he was getting good support from Stephen Foley and Donnchadh O’Sulivan.

However the move of former Kerry Minor Graham O’Sullivan to the centre of the field was to pay rich dividends for the South Kerry side who took a hold on the game but could not turn an abundance of possession into scores. Thomas Curran had a shot from close range smothered by Con O’Mahony and then Billy O’Rourke saved well from Dilan O’Donoghuewith the result that Dromid had not added to their half time tally by the three quarter stage. Then however Aidan “Shine” and Chris Farley had two good points within a minute but when Denis “Shine” and Dilan O’Donoghue set up Graham O’Sullivan in the 52nd minute the latter’s shot crashed off the post with goal written all over it. The impressive O’Donoghue retired injured after that bout of play and it looked as though Dromid’s goose was cooked. However, the South Kerry side owned the ball at this stage and came forward in waves with the result that Firies were forced to foul on occasions and Thomas Curran picked off four pointed frees on the trot to tie the game 1-8 to 0-11 at the end of normal time. While it certainly hard luck on Firies not to hold out, it would have been rough justice on Dromid had they failed to send the game to extra time at least.

The domination by Dromid continued into extra time with Graham O’Sullivan picking off three points from play and Donnchadh O’Sullivan converting a free for Firies from 49 yards to leave Dromid 0-14 to 1-9 ahead at the break.

Graham O’Sullivan again and Eoin O’Leary extended Dromid’s lead on the resumption before Donnchadh O’Sullivan left just a goal between the sides once again however Thomas Curran had the last say with the insurance score from a free to spark wild scenes of excitement at the final whistle.

The opening half was a dour struggle with Dromid wasting a number of good scoring chances in the first quarter. Good points from Dilan O’Donoghue for Dromid and Jack Sherwood for Firies were the standout scores as the sides were locked on 3 points each after 15 minutes and these two players provided the highpoints of the second quarter with excellent scores as Firies showed a gradual improvement as the half progressed and when Sherwood kicked them into the lead just on the half time whistle they were full of confidence going to the dressing room. It was not to be however as Dromid took a stranglehold on the middle third of the field and though it took them a while to find the target there was no stopping them once they discovered their scoring touch.

After the game, county committee chairman Tim Murphy presented the Tom Keane Cup to winning captain Chris Farley and Graham O’Sullivan received the Castleisland Mart Man of the Match trophy from Denis Griffin of Castleisland Mart.

Scorers: Dromid Pearses: Thomas Curran 0-5 frees, Graham O’Sullivan 0-4, Chris Farley 0-3 (1 free), Dilan O’Donoghue 0-2, Aidan “Shine” O’Sullivan, Kevin Sheehan and Eoin O’Leary 0-1 each.

Firies: Donnchadh O’Sullivan 0-5 (4 frees), Padraig de Brúin 1-0, Jack Sherwood and William Courtney 0-2 each. Shane O’Donoghue 0-1.