fb twitter yt

Keane's SuperValu Minor Hurling Championship 2017-09-20 22:39:00

Abbeydorney/Parnells 5-17

Kilmoyley 0-5

The Abbeydorney/Tralee Parnells combination proved far too strong for Kilmoyley at Lerrig on Wednesday evening in this quarter final of the Minor county hurling championship. 

From the very first whistle, the winners dominated proceedings and there was little doubt as to the final outcome as early as the first quarter when the visitors led by 2-4 to 0-1. 

To their credit, the Kilmoyley players battled gamely and players like Kevin Crowe, Phil Maunsell and Daire Nolan can be satisfied with their efforts. Despite the recent heavy rain the Kilmoyley pitch was in superb condition which led to a free flowing game. 

Kerry minor football panelist Brian Lonergan opened the scoring in the first minute following a nice pass from Niall O'Mahony but David Godley levelled with a pointed free after five minutes. O'Mahony edged the visitors ahead a minute later before corner forward Jack Sheehan rattled the Kilmoyley net from the resulting puckout. An Adam Maunsell point stretched the AbbeyDorney/Parnells lead with the score now 1-3 to 0-1 after 8 minutes, before the superb Michael Slattery added 1-1 in the next five minutes despite a superb initial save by Kilmoyley keeper Cian Regan. Kilmoyley's use of the sweeper system was not paying dividends as Phil Maunsell found it difficult to make headway against three defenders. Maunsell and Sheehan added two delightful points from play before Slattery scored his second goal five minutes before the break. Points from Daire Nolan (free) and Phil Maunsell left the half time score Abbeydorney/ Parnells 3-8 to Kilmoyley 0-3.

On the resumption, Kilmoyley began to win more possession around the middle third, but were unable to convert it into scores due largely to the work of Tadgh Brick, Johnny Downey and Darragh Reen who crowded out the scoring threat of the lively Phil Maunsell.Meanwhile, the pace and class of Slattery was reaping rewards for the visitors and despite a number of wides, he added three points and a goal in succession to stretch their lead. 

Kilmoyley's cause was not helped as they were reduced to fourteen players heading into the final ten minutes, although they added two points from David Godley and Nolan. Lonergan, who opened the scoring then closed the scoring with a final goal to end the scoring Abbeydorney/Parnells 5-17 to Kilmoyley 0-5.

Kilmoyley Team: 1 Kian Regan, 2 Cian Doherty, 3 Ciaran Monaghan, 4 Dylan McCabe, 5 Rhys Keane, 6 David Godley, 7 Thomas O'Sullivan, 8 Richard Flaherty, 9 Phil Maunsell, 10 Kevin Crowe, 11 Sean Regan, 12 Liam Flaherty, 13 Daire Nolan, 14 Ronan Godley, 15 Alan Horgan sub Conor Corrigan (30), Conor Hennessy, Evan Griffin, David Leane

Abbeydorney/Tralee Parnells Team

1 Sean Holden, 2 Shane O’Donovan, 3 Owen McCarthy, 4 Johnny Downey, 5 Jack Parker, 6 Tadhg Brick, 7 Shane Conway, 8 Adam Maunsell (Capt), 9 Niall O’Mahony, 10 Cathal Dunne, 11 Brian Lonergan, 12 Darragh Reen, 13 Jack Sheehan, 14 Dean O’Brien, 15 Michael Slattery Subs; Barry Lyons for 14, Rúairí O’Sullivan for 7, Keith O’Connor for 13, Mikey Cliffford for 2, Aidan Leahy for 12.