fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 3 - ROUND 5 - 10/6/2017 2017-06-10 15:05:00

Dromid Pearses  0-16   St. Senans 3-7

Blustery conditions in Páirc an Phiarsaigh last Saturday evening were not an issue for the home side, as points came as readily as they did the previous week against St. Michael’s/ Foilmore, despite the change in the starting fifteen.  The Pearses dominated in the first half with captain Cristóir Ó Faircheallaigh being their top scorer of the day, with points from frees and play in both halves.  St Senans’ first point came in the fifteenth minute from a free and their second from a free in the twenty ninth minute.  However, the north Kerry side were building momentum and eventually cut through Na Piarsaigh’s defence and found the back of the net in the closing minutes of the first half, bringing them within sight of the opposition for the first time.  Half time score Dromid 0-08, St. Senans 1-02.

The second half commenced with Dilan Ó Donnchadha pointing within the first minute. However, Dromid’s defence was coming under increasing pressure throughout the second half and the awarding of two penalties in quick succession resulted in a goal and a point. This was followed by a goal from play, despite goalkeeper Brian Ó Laoire’s best efforts which put the visitors in the lead for the first time in the last quarter of the game. The Pearses team dug deep, led by a man of the match performance from Padraig J Ó Súilleabháin and they clawed their way back with the equaliser coming from a well taken free from Tománs Ó Curráin.  The final score was Piarsaigh na Dromoda 0-16 to St. Senans 3-07.

Piarsaigh na Dromoda : Brian Ó Laoire, Shane Ó Conchubhair, Dominic Ó Súilleabháin, Cian Ó Sé, Micháel Ó Síocháin, Aodháin Shine Ó Súilleabháin, Padraig J Ó Súilleabháin, Caoimhín Ó Laoire(0-1), Tomás Ó Curráin (0-2,1f), Cathal Ó Nualláin, (0-1), Dilan Ó Donnchadha(0-4), Seán Og Ó Sé, Aodháin Ó Conchubhair(0-1), Críostóir Ó Faircheallaigh(C) (0-6,2f),Gearóid J Ó Súilleabháin(0-1), Fir Ionad: Graham Ó Súilleabháin, Niall Ó Conchubhair, Caoimhín Ó Síocháin.