fb twitter yt

Another Look Back at the Munster Minor Final 2017-07-04 10:08:00

Kerry Minors Achieve 5 In-A-row

Kerry 2-21  Clare 0-03

By Diarmuid Kearney and Samuel Mansfield

Kerry have retained the Munster Minor Football Title after they cruised to a comprehensive 24 point win over Clare in Fitzgerald Stadium.

The game threw in at 12PM as the curtain raiser for the Senior final and was sure to whet the appetite for Kerry fans as David Clifford climbed the steps to lift the cup.

Kerry were determined to win this game to complete a 5 in a row but were behind within seconds as Diarmuid Ryan pointed early on for the Banner county. From the opening Clare score Kerry were ruthless and laid siege to the Clare goal as they pulled 3 in front with 7 minutes played.

Kerry almost raised the green flag after 8 minutes but Mark Lillis denied the Kingdom any chance of going further in front. Clare got their second point in the 26th minute but would not score again until the 2nd half.

The sides were providing some great entertainment before the days main spectacle but it was Peter Keane’s men who were the happier going into the break as they led 0-10 to 0-02.

The Second Half was all Kerry from the restart pulling 14 points in front with 14 minutes played in the second period. Clare were reduced to 14 men after full back Jayme O’Sullivan was shown a second yellow card.

With 30 minutes played Kerry inflicted further misery on the Clare team as  wing forward Donal O’Sullivan broke through to score a goal with 30 minutes played.

Deep in injury time Kerry completed the route as again Donal O’Sullivan broke through on goal again to grab his second of the afternoon leaving the score at Full Time, Kerry 2-21 Clare 0-3.

Scorers: Kerry: E.Horan (0-01), D.Clifford (0-6), D.O’Sullivan (2-06)(2 F), F.Clifford (0-04)(1 F), D.O’Sullivan (0-02), B.Friel (0-01), J.Griffin (0-01).

Clare: D.Ryan (0-01), D.Coughlan (0-02)(1 F)



Kerry: D.Uosis, S.O’Leary, C.O’Donoghue, C.Gammell, M.Potts, E.Horan, N.Donoghue, B.Mahony, D.Connor, A.Donoghue, D.Clifford(C), D.O’Sullivan, F.Clifford, D.O’Sullivan, B.Friel

Subs: R.O’Neill for N.Donoghue, D.Casey for S.O’Leary, M.O’Leary for C.Gammell, P.Warren for D.Clifford, C.O’Reilly for D.O’Sullivan, J.Griffin for B.Friel.

Clare: M.Lillis, J.Sheedy, J.O’Sullivan, J.Miniter, S.Rouine, F.Donnellan, C.McNelis, D.Ryan, K.White, R.Phelan, D.Coughlan(C), R.O’Doherty, G.Cahill, G.Cooney, R.Considine

Subs: S.Casey for S.Rouine, D.Grffin for K.White, C.McMahon for R.Phelan, C.O’Brien for G.Cahill, A.Reynolds for G.Cooney

Kerry Minors stroll to facile victory over Clare

By John O’Leary PRO Coiste Chontae Chiarraí


Kerry Minor footballers strolled to a very facile victory over a Clare side who were out of their depth in the Munster Minor football final in Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday last (2-21 to 0-3). Indeed were it not for the fact that Kerry’s wides tally hit double figures in the first half, this would have been an even bigger rout. Young Donal O’Sullivan with 2-8 to his credit and David Clifford playing a captain’s part when chipping in with 6 points, led the scoring for the homeside who had this game in the bag when leading by 10 points to 2 at the break. Kerry will now go on to play the Leinster final runners-up on the weekend of the 5th August. There are still four counties left in the Leinster Minor football championship with Wexford playing Louth and Dublin playing Kildare in the semi finals this week.