fb twitter yt

Dr Crokes saunter to fourth Munster title in six year 2016-11-27 18:36:00

Dr Crokes saunter to fourth Munster title in six year with win over The Nire

Dr Crokes 3-15 The Nire 0-6

Report by Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper Courtesy of Munster GAA

Dr Crokes, courtesy of this 18-point annihilation of The Nire, sauntered to a fourth Munster title in six years this afternoon.

The game as a contest was well over by the call for the interval break with the Kerry champions ahead by 3-9 to 0-1. Daithí Casey, who supplied all three of Crokes’ goals, raised the first of his green flags nine minutes in. Colm Cooper, with his first touch of the game, started the move. It put the favourites 1-2 ahead and already The Nire looked in trouble.

Points followed from Casey (free), Brian Looney and O’Leary tagged on points and they celebrated a second goal when Casey banged home a 20th minute penalty. The referee initially awarded a 20-metre free but then gave the penalty following consultation with his umpires.

At 2-5 to 0-0, it was ominous for the underdogs. Dermot Ryan kicked their sole score of the half on 21 minutes. Crokes answered with a superb Casey goal. Looney, Cooper and Johnny Buckley had the difference at 17 come the break.

It was 18 come the final whistle. A seventh title in total for the Killarney club. Next up is Corofin in the All-Ireland semi-final on February 11th.

Scorers for Dr Crokes: D Casey (3-2, 1-0 pen, 0-1 free); K O’Leary (0-4); C Cooper (0-1 free), B Looney (0-2 each); A O’Donovan, J Buckley, E Brosnan, J Kiely, C Brady (0-1 each).

Scorers for The Nire: D Ryan (0-4); L Lawlor (0-2).

Dr Crokes: S Murphy; F Fitzgerald, M Moloney, J Payne; G White, A O’Sullivan, D O’Leary; A O’Donovan, E Brosnan; J Buckley, G O’Shea, B Looney; K O’Leary, C Cooper, D Casey
Subs: M Burns for O’Donovan (43 mins); J Kiely for Casey (47); T Brosnan for O’Shea (50); L Quinn for J Payne (50); C Brady for Looney (54); PJ Lawlor for O’Sullivan (56).

The Nire: T Wall; D Ryan, T Gorman, J Walsh; S Ryan, J Barron, J McGrath; S Walsh, Dylan Guiry; B Wall, S Lawlor, M Walsh; C Gleeson, L Lawlor, Darren Guiry
Subs: J Mulcahy for Walsh (HT), C Guiry for Dylan Guiry (HT); C Mulcahy for Barron (38, bc); S Ryan for McGrath (42); K Guiry for B Wall (53); K Brazil for Lawlor (58)

Dr Crokes face The Nire in Munster Senior Club  Final

Dr Crokes left no one in any doubt that they were the best team in Kerry when regaining the Bishop Moynihan Cup last month and they now go in search of the seventh Munster club title when they take on Waterford champions The Nire in Mallow at 3:30pm. 

The Nire have proved themselves to be a tough nut to crack in their two previous final outings and both against Kerry opposition. Just two years ago they held Austin Stacks to four points (3-5 to 2-4) and back in 2006 they gave Sunday’s opponents, Dr Crokes a right fright before going down by three points (2-5 to 0-8). Both sides have been busy over the last couple of months and the Killarney outfit are playing for the 8th weekend on the trot, That sort of schedule often leads to injuries but the Kerry standard bearers have been very lucky in that respect. 

They had tough encounters against Clare champions Kilmurray-Ibrickane and Tipperary representatives Loughmore-Castleiney but were probably more comfortable winners than the final scorelines would suggest. The Deise men, who come from north Waterford not far from Clonmel, surprised many in the semi final a week after winning the county title when accounting for Cork’s Carbery Rangers who had the benefit of a quarter final tie. That is sure to give them confidence going into Sunday’s game but popular opinion is that Dr Crokes will have too much firepower up front with plenty reserve talent also on the bench to come into the fray if needed.