fb twitter yt

Kerry Minors make it 4 Munster Titles in a Row 2016-07-03 20:45:00

Kerry Minors make it 4 Munster Titles in a Row
The Kerry minors achieved a 4 in a row of Munster titles when defeating Cork in Fitzgerald in the opening game this afternoon.
Kerry, with goals from Bryan Sweeney and Sean O'Shea, led by 2-7 to 1-6 at the break and withstood a determined comeback by Cork to record a six points victory on a 3-14 to 3-8 scoreline with David Clifford (1-5) and Sean O'Shea (1-4) the top scorers.

Kerry Minors are now through to the Quarter Finals where they will meet the losers of the Ulster Final between Derry and Donegal on the August weekend

Click Here for match report from Munster GAA.

Click here for some photos from today's game

Kerry V Cork Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football
Minor Football Championship Final

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Cork in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Final at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday next (12 noon) shows one change in personnel from the side that defeated Clare in the semi final – Bryan Sweeney, who played in last year’s All Ireland final, starts at full forward with Ferdia O’Brien the player to lose out.

The team, captained by Seán O’Shea of Kenmare is as follows:
1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Graham O'Sullivan Dromid Pearses
5. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheál Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O'Connor Na Gaeil
13. David Clifford Fossa
14. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
15. Brian Friel Rathmore
Fir Ionaid:
16. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
17. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
18. Ferdia O'Brien Austin Stacks
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
21. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
22. Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil
23. Niall O’Donoghue Firies
24. Cormac Linnane Beale

Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Tomás O'Connor Ballymacelligott
Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
Darren Casey St. Mary's
Karl Mullins Kerins O'Rahillys
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Fionán Mackessy Ardfert
Darragh Sugrue Tuosist
Ryan O’Neill Na Gaeil
Cian Gammell Killarney Legion
Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk

The team contains three of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Billy Courtney, Sean O’Shea and Bryan Sweeney while three others who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen.
Five of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Michael Potts, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

Kerry and Cork clash in Minor Final
Kerry and Cork renew rivalry at Minor level when they clash in the Munster Minor Final in the curtain raiser at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday (throw-in 12 noon). Kerry are of course All Ireland champions for the past two years and they can still call on the likes of Sean O’Shea, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Graham O’Sullivan, Bryan Sweeney and Mike Breen from last year’s successful panel. Peter Keane has taken over the reins from Jack O’Connor and it remains to be seen if the Cahersiveen man can work the oracle in the same fashion as his near neighbour from Dromid did.
Cork have not won the Munster title since 2010 but they do come to Killarney with a big reputation this year. Last year they went down to the Kingdom by just a point after extra time in a classic in Austin Stack Park without having the chance to redeem themselves through the back door system. No doubt this year’s squad will want to reverse that result. Games between these two sides rarely fail to ignite and early comers to the Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday could be in for a treat. Referee is Alan Kissane of Waterford.

The Kerry Minor Team to play Cork in the Munster Minor Football Final at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday at 12 noon will be announced on Thursday evening at 9pm