Cork U15B Hurlers claim Munster title 2014-09-06 09:48:00

Cork U15B Hurlers claim Munster title

Cork U15B Hurlers claimed the Munster B Hurling title with a four point win over Tipperary in Clarecastle, Co. Clare, last Saturday 30th August.

The Cork side, managed by UCC’s Jim McEvoy, former Cork player Niall McCarthy and Niall Kidney, Carrigtwohill, took on Clare in their opening game and scored an impressive 2-18 to just 0-01, with contribution of 2 fine points from Inniscarra representative Liam Buckley, playing at wing forward after his introduction during the 2nd half. In their next game, Cork overcame Kerry 1-11 to 1-06 ensuring their passage to the cup final, with Liam showing consistency of performance throughout.

A Munster final against Tipperary at any age is always going to be an interesting game, especially as Cork had the disadvantage of having playing their qualifying matches back to back. Liam, his earlier performances having secured his starting position for the final, again lined out at wing forward.

The Rebels built up a strong lead in the opening half. Cork grabbed the game’s first goal through Luke Lordan in the 18th minute. A 1-6 to 0-01 advantage at the break was needed to keep Tipp at bay and even though the Premier county put in a brave second half performance, it wasn’t enough to turn the tide, with the final score 1-08 to 1-04. The mentors were delighted with level of skill, intensity and determination shown by all members of squad throughout the tournament. Credit goes to mentors for their preparation and management of squad on the day. 

Cork: Ian Butler (Kildorrey), Ross O’ Donovan (Ballincollig), Aidan Walsh (St Finbarrs), David Donovan (Whitechurch), Richard Galvin (St Catherines) Capt., Greg Healy (Na Piarsaigh), Ryan Walsh (Cuchulainns), Owen Galvin (St Vincents), Cian Dadger (Douglas), Conor Walsh (Bishopstown), Sean Walsh (Ballincollig), Liam Buckley (Inniscarra), Jack Twomey (Kilshannig), Luke Lordan (Bishopstown), Shane Hickey (Millstreet)

Subs used (for Final): Eoin Murphy (Mallow), Diarmuid Dineen (Eire Og), Ger Millerick (Fr O Neills)

Panel: Colm O Driscoll (Bishopstown), Philip Keane (St Catherines), Michael Scully (Douglas), Cathal Gunning (Midleton)

Back to top