Inniscarra and Ballincollig will have to meet again in the Premier 1 Fe15 Football Championship after a draw in Ballyanly on Saturday evening. In truth Inniscarra should be celebrating a deserved victory after leading by 12 points to 3 at half time having played with the wind in the first half but had to settle for a draw at the final whistle. Inniscarra started very well with Sean McCarthy scoring the first point after a quick free by Sean Leisk. Sean McCarthy then set up Andrew McCarthy for a point before a long clearance by Neil Vaughan was picked up by Sean Aherne resulting in a free which Sean Leisk pointed .Good work by Cian Connolly and Josh Roberts resulted in the ball reaching Stephen Linehan who picked out Sean McCarthy for another point. A long kick out by John Gould was fielded by Colin O'Leary for a mark and he was fouled and the free was pointed by Liam O'Connor. An excellent pass from Liam O'Connor resulted in another point by Sean McCarthy before good defending by Evin Cunningham and James Flannery progressed the ball to Keith O'Mahony who picked out captain Shea Dineen and he scored an excellent point. Sean McCarthy then scored two points either side of a pointed free by Sean Leisk. Keith O'Mahony and Cian Connolly combined to set up Sean McCarthy for another point before a foul on Josh Roberts led to a pointed free by Liam O'Connor. The final score of the first half was a point by Sean Leisk after an excellent pass from Stephen Linehan.

Ballincollig scored two points at the start of the second half but Inniscarra responded with a fisted goal by Sean McCarthy after Cian Connolly shot on goal was deflected into the square. Inniscarra were now ten points ahead but unfortunately from then to the end it was all Ballincollig and Inniscarra only reply was a pointed free by Sean Leisk.At the end a draw was the outcome but Inniscarra will feel it was a game they should have won.

Scorers; Sean McCarthy 1 - 5, Sean Leisk 0 - 4, Liam O'Connor 0 - 2, Andrew McCarthy 0 - 1, Shea Dineen 0 - 1.

Team. John Gould, Evin Cunningham, Neil Vaughan, James Flannery, Shea Dineen, Keith O'Mahony, Sean Aherne, Sean Leisk, Colin O'Leary, Stephen Linehan, Liam O'Connor, Josh Roberts, Andrew McCarthy, Sean McCarthy, Cian Connolly, Subs, John O'Connor, James Doyle, Sean Lynch, Ethan Pigott, John Buckley, Eoin Barrett

Back to top