Fe 18 P2 HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP 2017-08-03 17:59:00


Inniscarra had a comprehensive victory over Blackrock in a very entertaining championship match at Caherlag on Sunday evening. The first half was played at a frantic pace with Inniscarra facing a strong wind and at times heavy rain. Liam Ryan and Darragh Hughes were in control at midfield and Con O'Leary was magnificient at wing back. With James Buckley controlling the centre back position, the forwards had a plentiful supply of ball and they duly converted their chances. Owen McCarthy opened the scoring with a point and this was followed by three well taken goals by Michael O'Connell, after good work by Edward O'Connor, and two goals by captain Liam Buckley. Ardal O'Connell pointed a long range free after a foul on James Buckley, Owen McCarthy had his second point and good work by Liam Ryan led to a point by Padraig Holland. A long range free by Padraig Holland went all the way to the net and the half ended with points by Michael O'Connell and Owen McCarthy.

Leading by 4 - 6 to 0 - 6 at half time, Inniscarra just needed to keep the Blackrock scoring to a minimum in the second half and the backs were very impressive in this half with the full back line of Ciaran Lombard, Cillian Murphy and Jack O'Sullivan clearing the danger on many occasions in front of ever reliable goalkeeper Dave Og Coleman. Two pointed frees by Ardal O'Connell was followed by a long range point by Con O'Leary.  Jamie O'Sullivan, who had a very impressive second half, sent a great ball upfield to set up Edward O'Connor for a point and Owen McCarthy then scored his fourth point. Blackrock then scored their only goal but Liam Buckley replied with his third goal for Inniscarra. A pointed free by Ardal O'Connell was followed by a beautifully taken goal by Mark Buckley, just after his introduction, after a clever pass by Liam Ryan. Another sub Sam Doyle got a lovely point before a pass by Sean Sheehan set up Liam Buckley for Inniscarra final score. Final score INNISCARRA 6 - 14, BLACKROCK 1 - 14.

Scorers, Liam Buckley 3 - 1, Owen McCarthy 0 - 4, Ardal O'Connell 0 - 4, Padraig Holland 1 - 1,Michael O'Connell 1 - 1, Edward O'Connor 0 -1, Con O'Leary 0 - 1. Mark Buckley 1 - 0. Sam Doyle 0 - 1.

Team, Dave Og Coleman, Ciaran Lombard, Cillian Murphy, Jack O'Sullivan, Jamie O'Sullivan, James Buckley,, Con O'Leary, Darragh Hughes, Liam Ryan, Edward O'Connor, Ardal O'Connell, Padraig Holland, Owen McCarthy, Michael O'Connell, Liam Buckley(c). Subs,Mark Buckley for Ml O'Connell, Liam Doyle for Liam Ryan, Bryan Linehan for P Holland, Sam Doyle for D Hughes, Sean Sheehan for A O'Connell, Evin Cunningham, Evan Kelly, David Kiely, Dylan Colgan.

Back to top