Fe-14 Premier 2 Hurling Championship INNISCARRA 1-6,YOUGHAL 2-14 2018-08-24 16:07:00

Inniscarra were defeated by Youghal in the Fe-14 Premier 2 Hurling Championship at Ballyanly on Monday evening. Youghal were much stronger physically and deserved victory but Inniscarra put  up a brave performance. Youghal had three points on the board before good defending and a sublime pass from Tadhg Lyons found Harry Church who scored a brilliant point after a long solo run. Youghal then struck for a goal but Inniscarra responded with a brilliant goal by Aidan Cooke after good work by Ross O'Donovan and Michael Murphy. A great save by goalkeeper Adam Doyle resulted in the ball being cleared by Michael Dineen to Brian Lowney who found Sean Og Desmond who was fouled and Cillian Ryan pointed the resultant free. Youghal replied with two points and a goal but it could have been worse except for excellent defending and good blocks by Andrew Scannell and Conor Sheehan. Brilliant midfield work by David Keane led to the ball reaching Ross O'Donovan and he scored a beautiful point before half time. Half Time score      INNISCARRA  1  -  3,    YOUGHAL  2  -  5.Youghal scored five points in a row at the start of the second half with Inniscarra defence under severe pressure but excellent defending particularly by Conor Sheehan and Liam Buckley kept Inniscarra in the game. Aidan Cooke scored Inniscarra first point of the second half after good work by Jonathan Keane and Conor Geoghegan and Cillian Ryan converted a free after a foul on Myles O'Neill. Inniscarra final score was a point by Brian Lowney after Jonathan and David Keane combined to send him on a superb solo run.   Final Score INNISCARRA  1  -  6,  YOUGHAL  2  -  14.Scorers,  Aidan Cooke  1  -  1,  Cillian Ryan  0  -  2,  Harry Church  0  -  1,  Ross O'Donovan  0  -  1,  Brian Lowney  0  -  1,Team,  Adam Doyle,  Andrew Scannell,  Conor Sheehan,  Michael Dineen,  Tadgh Lyons,  Brian Lowney,  Liam Buckley,  David Keane,  Jonathan Keane,  Harry Church,  Aidan Cooke,  Michael Murphy,  Ross O'Donovan,  Sean Og Desmond,  Cillian Ryan,  subs,  Conor Geoghegan for Sean Og,  Myles O'Neill for Michael Dineen,  Eoin Earle for Cillian, James Aherne for Michael Murphy,  Benedict Coffey,  John O'Sullivan,  Senan Morris.

Back to top