Disappointment for U16 Hurlers 2018-08-13 13:50:00

It was a disappointing night for the Fe16 Hurlers at Cobh on Friday evening in the Premier 2 Hurling Championship. Having fallen behind to an early goal and point Inniscarra struggled to get into the game and trailed at half time by 1 - 6 to 0 - 7, They fell further behind at the beginning of the second half but gradually got some momentum going and with some minutes left to play were awarded a penalty when Oisin Morris was fouled with the goal at his mercy,.The penalty was expertly taken by Joe Enright and at this stage Inniscarra trailed by just a single point but in the remaining few minutes it was the opposition who got the vital extra scores.Inniscarra first five scores in the first half were all pointed frees by Oisin Morris, the first when Shay Dineen played a lovely pass to Oisin and he was fouled, the second a puck out brilliantly caught by Mark Linehan who fed John Gould and he was fouled.A short puck out by Evin Cunningham picked out John O'Connell and he sent the ball up the field to Josh Roberts who was fouled for the third point. The fourth point came when Stephen Linehan was fouled after gathering a long clearance by Liam O'Connor and the fifth when Colin O'Leary took a quick free for a foul on Sean Leisk  which Joe Enright collected and was fouled. Sean Quinlivan and Neil Vaughan combined to get the ball to Colin O'Leary and he scored a magnificent long range point from midfield.Oisin Morris then pointed another free after a foul on Joe Enright. The second half started poorly for Inniscarra but more scores could have been conceded except for brilliant defending particularly by the full back line of Sean Aherne, Neil Vaughan and Sean Quinlivan with one brilliant block down by Neil Vaughan preventing a certain goal.Good defending by Sean Aherne and Mark Linehan and a good block by Josh Roberts set up Stephen Linehan for a lovely point and good work by Eoghan Barrett led to a Sean Leisk point. Excellent defending by James Flannery and Liam O'Connor got the ball to Shay Dineen and he picked out Oisin Morris which led to the penalty which Joe Enright converted but unfortunately Inniscarra couldn't get any more scores so at full time trailed by three points   INNISCARRA  1  -  9,  ST COLMANS  1  -  12.Scorers,  Oisin Morris  0  - 6,  Joe Enright  1  -  0,  Colin O'Leary  0  -  1,  Sean Leisk  0  -  1,  Stephen Linehan  0  -  1,Team,  Evin Cunningham,  Sean Aherne,  Neil Vaughan,  Sean Quinlivan,  John O'Connell,  Liam O'Connor,  Mark Linehan,  Shay Dineen,  Colin O'Leary,  Oisin Morris,  Joseph Enright,  Sean Leisk,  John Gould,  Stephen Linehan,  Josh Roberts,   subs,  Eoghan Barrett for John Gould,  James Flannery for John O'Connell,  James Doyle,  Tom O'Sullivan,  Ethan Piggot ,  John Buckley,  Brian Dinan,  Sean McLaughlin,  Colm Heelan.

Back to top