Club Notes

2014 AGM

A very well attended AGM of the Foxrock Cabinteely GAA club was held on Wednesday December 10th. All present were given comprehensive reports by the Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Head of Football on the financial and playing activities of the club during 2014.  Having listened and digested all of the reports, it was clear to all present that the outgoing executive performed a mammoth task and they are to be complimented on their achievements.

Football is about enjoyment, participation and development and success is an added bonus.  The club had a lot of success on the playing field and these deserve to be recognised.

Senior: The senior team played 21 competitive games and won 20.  This resulted in the following:

          Division 1 league winners

          Division 1 Cup winners

          Championship runners-up

Junior: The junior team won the C championship and in doing so, gave some of the younger players a taste of adult football.


U14: It was a remarkable year for the U14's. They won the

          Dublin Féile for the third year in a row

          All Ireland Féile for the second year in a row - the first time any club in Ireland has achieved this.

          Division 1 league winners

          Division 1 Championship runners-up.

U13: The U13's won the division 1 shield.

Schools: Our partner schools of St. Brigid's, Johnstown and Hollypark all played in the division 1 championship with Hollypark going on to win the competition.

The club were also represented on various Dublin teams and all players played key roles in the success of the teams they played on. Our representatives were:

Senior: (Leinster championship winners and All-Ireland and National League Division 1 runners up): Sinead Goldrick - who was also the team captain; Niamh Collins and Emma McDonagh.

Minor: (Leinster championship winners and All-Ireland runners up) - Ciara Crotty.

U16: (Leinster championship winners and All-Ireland runners up) Ellen Curran, Tara O Sullivan, Megan Duffy, Hannah Foster Ryan and Hannah O'Neill. Hannah also won the "Player of the Match" for her outstanding performance in the Leinster final win over Meath

U14: (Leinster championship winners) - Eve Reidy, Christina Hamill, Jessica Connolly, Siofra O'Brien and Roisin McGovern.

All-Star: Not many clubs have senior All-Stars in their midst but this year Sinead Goldrick picked up her third consecutive All-Star award in November. This is a remarkable achievement and the club are extremely proud of Sinead.  When this was mentioned during the meeting all present broke into spontaneous cheers and applause in recognition of this magnificent feat.


Next came the election of the executive for 2015. Outgoing executive members Colette O'Keefe, Colm Whooley, Mark Lowry, Joanne Mulholland and Paul Tonge didn't seek re-election and the following committee was appointed for 2015:

Chairman - Johnny Culloty

Vice Chairman - Pat Ring

Secretary - Linda Carroll

Treasurer - David Kiely

Registrar - Niall O'Kelly

PRO - Ger Kirwan

Head of Football - Gordon Bell

Child Welfare Officer - Mags Walsh