County Committee Meeting Report 29.1.2019 2019-01-29 23:26:00

The first meeting of the County Committee for 2019 took place on Tuesday, January 29th.

Arising from the minutes, the Cathaoirleach reported that a meeting of the Páirc Uí Chaoimh board was scheduled for February 25th.

Keith Ricken (St. Vincent's) was ratified as the new county Under 20 football manager, with selectors to be appointed in due course. The
Cathaoirleach thanked Gene O’Driscoll for his time as manager and also the GDAs, particularly James McCarthy and Pat Spratt, for helping out. Ciarán O’Sullivan, who had stepped down as a Senior football selector was thanked for his contribution to Cork football.

Development Officer Pat Horgan reminded delegates about the officer training that will take place in Mallow (February 4th), Dunmanway (February 11th) and Pairc Ui Chaoimh (February 18th). Clubs have been notified of these training nights.

A sub-committee to look at the pricing structure for club games in Cork was announced. The committee consists of Kevin O’ Donovan, Diarmuid Gowen, Ronan Dwane, Joseph Blake and Noel O’ Callaghan. Clubs and individuals were invited to make submissions if they so wish. 

The Chairperson confirmed that Under 16s will be allowed free admission into all National League games in Cork following discussions with Croke Park last week. 

The delegate representatives elected onto the executive for 2019 were Noel O’ Callaghan (Senior clubs), Donal McSweeney (Intermediate clubs), Richard Fitzgerald (Junior clubs) and Tony McAuliffe (Divisional boards). The Chairperson thanked outgoing members John Crean and Eamonn Landy for their contribution.

The schedule of meetings for 2019 was approved. 

The 2 members from the board elected to the Congress delegation were Willie Ring and Daniel Lane. 

Munster Council delegate Ger Lane read out a report from Munster Council. It was noted that Cork's Jerry O'Sullivan had completed his three-year term as Cathaoirleach, a role he filled with distinction, and that Frank Murphy had concluded his term as Uachtarán. Good wishes were conveyed to new Chairperson, Liam Linehan (Limerick) and Vice-Chairperson Ger Ryan (Tipperary).

The issue of ticket prices for Inter – County games was queried by a number of delegates during the meeting. 

The #2024 Cork Football plan was discussed with contributions from a number of delegates. The plan was passed unanimously and the members of the sub-committee were thanked for their work.
The Cathaoirleach reported that she had asked the members of the sub-committee to continue in an oversight role to ensure the implementation of the plan.

The League regulations were adopted including the new points structure (sent to clubs). 

The Runaí said the championship programme was nearly finalised and would be in circulation soon. 

A Championship review for 2020 will take place during the month of February.

Loan applications were approved for a number of clubs. 

Both Christian Brothers College and CBS Midleton were congratulated on reaching the Harty Cup Final. Rochestown and Hamilton High School were congratulated on reaching the Under 19 B final. The Chairperson announced that grants would be presented to the four schools to acknowledge their success in reaching the finals and the same would apply to football schools should they reach their finals. 

Good wishes were extended to clubs and individuals on recent achievements and upcoming events. 

Cairde Chorcai were completed on their organisation of the very successful Dr Con Murphy tribute night. 

Votes of sympathy were read out. 

The next meeting is February 12th at 8pm. 



Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by